The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

whm can't start...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bilgin, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. bilgin

    bilgin Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    whm can't start...
    yesterday, i rebooted my server and then it can't start

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    what i will do ?
    thanks.. .
     
    #1 bilgin, Nov 30, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  2. d_t

    d_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucharest
    This is not a WHM problem but one with filesystem. Looks like the CD/DVD is missing (hdc). Try to put it and reboot. If doesn't work, type your password, mount root partition, edit /stc/fstab and comment the line for hdc1
     
  3. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    You have created LVM partitions which seem to have gone bad. Login to the server from the 'Maintenance' mode and do a File System Check on those partitions. If you are unable to login via the Maintenance mode, you will have to login from Rescue mode using a CD.

    Also make sure you don't have any extra entries in /etc/fstab file else the system will try to mount them at startup and since the partitions are not available, the bootup will fail with errors.
     
  4. NeilAgg

    NeilAgg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I am seeing this on some of my customers' VPS servers as well.

    I tested it on a new installation of cPanel on a CentOS 5.5 VPS running on a KVM host.

    There is no hdc device in the guest's configuration, but when I go into WHM and click Format/Mount a new Hard Drive under Disk Drives, it shows that it found a drive hdc.

    If the user clicks the button to Partition, Format, and Mount that drive, WHM will place an entry in /etc/fstab and the system will not boot from then on until the entry is removed.

    Is there a way to fix WHM so it does not show this fictitious drive?
     
  5. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should put in a ticket or bug report for this issue, it does nto sound like it happens on all machines but if you can give them a server that can reproduce it they may be able to track it down quicker.
     
Loading...

Share This Page