The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM changing hostname abuse@, webmaster@ etc

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by digitalmedia, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. digitalmedia

    digitalmedia Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi guys,

    Not sure if this should be in the Email forum or not, so sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place.

    On the docs page for 'Change Hostname', we're advised 'It is important to choose a hostname that will not be used for a cPanel account'

    My question is, how would we receive email addressed to that FQDN for abuse@, webmaster@ etc?

    Stephen
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,698
    Likes Received:
    657
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It means that you should not set the hostname to "domain.com". However, you can set the hostname to "server.domain.com" and still create "domain.com" as an account with it's own email addresses.

    Thank you.
     
  3. ITGabs

    ITGabs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    About this question I thought the same.

    But I am still having some problems to understand how this works.

    I recently need to create a postmaster@domain.com where my hostdomain is host.domain.com I can't create the domain account in cpanel because the DNS Zone already exist domain.com after many attempts I deleted the zone, and double check the basic settings.

    And here is when I have problems.

    My server nslookup [my first IP] is host.domain.com and my nslookup host.domain.com is [My first IP]
    My server nslookup [my second IP] is host2.domain.com and my nslookup host2.domain.com is [My second IP]
    But my NS for all the accounts registered in the server are ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com

    So there is a mess with the zone of domain.com
    some A records like host and host2 are there but other ns records not
    and now I have a second zone automated created by cpanel ns2.domain.com

    Code:
    ; cPanel first:11.44.1.18 (update_time):1410631008 11.44.1.18: Cpanel::ZoneFile::VERSION:1.3 hostname:host.domain.com latest:11.44.1.18
    ; Zone file for ns2.domain.com                                                                                                             
    $TTL 14400                                                                                                                               
    @      86400    IN      SOA     ns1.domain.com. hostmaster.otherdomain.com. (                                                                   
                    2014091301      ; serial, todays date+todays                                                                             
                    86400           ; refresh, seconds                                                                                       
                    7200            ; retry, seconds                                                                                         
                    3600000         ; expire, seconds                                                                                        
                    86400 )         ; minimum, seconds                                                                                       
                                                                                                                                             
    ns2.domain.com. 86400 IN NS ns1.domain.com.                                                                                                  
    ns2.domain.com. 86400 IN NS ns2.domain.com.                                                                                                  
                                                                                                                                             
                                                                                                                                             
    ns2.domain.com. IN A [my second IP]                                                                                                          
    localhost.ns2.domain.com. IN A 127.0.0.1                                                                                                   
                                                                                                                                             
    ns2.domain.com. IN MX 0 ns2.domain.com.                                                                                                      
                                                                                                                                             
    mail IN CNAME ns2.domain.com.                                                                                                              
    www IN CNAME ns2.domain.com.                                                                                                               
    ftp IN CNAME ns2.domain.com.                                                                                                               
    I want to understand
    Can you provide me with documentation about cpanel hostname, ns records, and dns zones I think something is not right in my settings :confused:
     
  4. digitalmedia

    digitalmedia Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    Thanks for the reply.
    Just to confirm, I have the domain I want to use already in a cPanel account.
    I have 2 VPS that I want to change the hostnames on (for PTR records), so I want to use, say host1.example.com on the first VPS and host2.example.com on the second VPS.

    Reading what user ITGabs said below, I just want to check that his problem is unique and that DNS information won't be affected (other than the A and PTR records). I should note, that DNS is handled by my provider, NOT the VPS itself.

    Regards,
    Stephen
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,698
    Likes Received:
    657
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can delete the separate DNS zones for your hostname and name servers, and then add them manually as "A" records in the primary DNS zone for the domain name.

    Yes, if your DNS is not handled on the VPS then the zones on your cPanel server have no bearing on actual propagation.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page