The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM/CPanel Nightly Backups Broken????

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by embsupafly, May 10, 2005.

  1. embsupafly

    embsupafly Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    We have two servers running WHM latest CURRENT version. The backups are configured to backup and ftp to a remote off site server and it used to work flawlessly.

    Now both servers are not performing the scheduled backups at all and I can not find out why.

    When I try to manually run cpbackup, It starts the backup process for a few accounts, compresses them and actually sucessfully ftp's them to the remote server, then all of the sudden, the load gets really high and we get the following error:

    "Can't call method "login" on an undefined value at /scripts/cpbackup line 399, <PWCACHEENT> line 33."

    Looking at the daily cron email regarding cpbackup, this error message also occurs

    "Waiting for load to go down to continue
    Waiting for load to go down to continue
    Waiting for load to go down to continue
    Waiting for load to go down to continue
    Waiting for load to go down to continue
    Can't call method "login" on an undefined value at /scripts/cpbackup line 399, <PWCACHEENT> line 33."

    This happens on both of our servers running WHM.

    Any ideas on how to fix.
     
  2. theBassTender

    theBassTender Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ditto

    I started having the same exact issue. I updated to the latest stable release and this started happening. RedHat Enterprise 3, WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-S73
     
  3. embsupafly

    embsupafly Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can anyone help?
     
  4. avijit

    avijit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Any help. How can we continue to take backup despite high server load !
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    This is a different issue to the OP as that's about having errors in the backup. Either way, you can force backups to run despite high load by upping the CPU count in WHM > Tweak Settings. It uses the same setting as the one in the Stats section. Be aware though that backups will always consume huge resources in terms of CPU, memory and disk I/O by their very nature and so you should ensure that they do not clash with other things running on your server, especially upcp and the daily cron (04:00).
     
  6. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm having the same error, but I'm not getting any notice about having to wait for resources:

    Copying password.......Done
    Copying shell.......Done
    pkgacctfile is: /home/cpbackuptmp/cpbackup/daily/shoresof.tar.gz
    Creating Archive ....Done
    md5sum is: 8bc7ece40382beeb4dbc6a8c32086a56
    Can't call method "login" on an undefined value at /scripts/cpbackup line 399, <PWCACHEENT> line 40.

    This is an extract from the cpbackup log. This is the first account that it tries to backup. I'm using FTP backups.

    Any ideas?

    - Scott
     
  7. embsupafly

    embsupafly Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The problem is that they used to work fine without any error. The server(s) have the same amount of storage than they have in the past. So if the backups used to work, and they don't anymore, why do we need to tweak settings in WHM when we never had to before.
     
    #7 embsupafly, Jul 7, 2005
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2005
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The load trend on a server can easily change over time for a myriad of reasons. The simple fact is that if the load average is above a certain level then the backups will suspend until that load average comes down. It's the reason for the high load average that you ought to investigate to resolve the issue.
     
Loading...

Share This Page