The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Daily Process Logs - Top Processes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yellowhousedesi, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. yellowhousedesi

    yellowhousedesi Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm currently trying to investigate a high usage issue I'm running into on my server for a few accounts. Under the Daily Process Log, I am looking at the Top Processes and see the problem areas - but the actual process just says
    PHP:
    Does anyone know of a tools that I can use to actually inspect an account to see what PHP processes are the hogs hereI've heard that xhprof could be a possibility - but want to make sure I'm using the right tool for the jobThanks!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    First, check "WHM >> Service Configuration >> Configure PHP and SuExec" to see which handler you are using for PHP. You may want to consider switching to suPHP if it's not already enabled. Under this option, PHP scripts will be executed by the user who owns the VirtualHost serving the request.

    The following document explains each PHP handler:

    Apache PHP Request Handling

    Also, does anything show up under "user" in the daily process log for this specific process?

    Thank you.
     
  3. yellowhousedesi

    yellowhousedesi Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    Really appreciate the response. Yes, I currently am using suPHP as the PHP Handler. I do see the specific user account - which correlates to an account on my server. There's got to be some type of "magic tool" out there that can help me figure out why this account is using so many resources :)

    It's a Joomla! site if that matters... Thanks!
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It could be an out of date Joomla itself or addon for that Joomla. If the Joomla is up to date proper, and it has some addon modules the user has added, have him disable them for a bit and see if load goes down. Have him check them for updates, and/or remove them. If you have ConfigServer Firewall installed it will alert you to scripts running out of control and can even be configured to kill it, wrap it and move it out of the way if needed.

    It could very well be an out of date mod on the site. if its not the script itself causing issues it could be an attacker hitting that out of date script trying to get in.

    I'd start by looking at the site and whats going in with it first before much else. Depending on the site owner's knowledge of maintaining the updates for the mods and site, you can sometimes find a real mess when you look closer at the files, names of the mods etc.
     
  5. yellowhousedesi

    yellowhousedesi Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    Thanks again for the response. I've made sure their J! install is up-to-date, so I think it's almost a matter of determining "the" component/php function that is so heavy, thus my quest for a magic tool that can profile php functions based on memory usage. Thanks!
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Based on the discussion of xhprof at Profiling with XHProf – techPortal location, it seems that it might provide the debugging you are seeking for your PHP script. You might simply try installing it to see the results.
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. yellowhousedesi

    yellowhousedesi Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Wow, thanks for doing that!
     
  9. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  10. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why would there be harm in running a perl debugging script onto a shared machine? If you do not want it to be accessible, it could be password protected as I indicated in the guide. If you did not mean for security purposes, then please define what is meant by harm in this context. Thanks!
     
  11. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your explanation. I meant there are hundreds of accounts hosted on shared server.
    So if xhprof installed on server will it consume more resources causing overload on server ?
     
  12. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you going to install it on one account or all the accounts? If you install it on all the accounts, it might well cause an issue mainly due to the session data being written for many accounts who might utilize it, which would take up space in /tmp folder.

    I cannot see most users using it, since it is a developer tool to track down coding function calls for improving the PHP code. As such, it is only really useful for someone developing code.
     
Loading...

Share This Page