The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM / DNS ONLY --- HD Space needed ????

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by mferry, Sep 10, 2014.

  1. mferry

    mferry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Folks,

    I see in the WHM Install guide that a WHM/cPanel server is recommended to have Disk Space:
    20 GB hard disk (40 GB is recommended)

    I bought a new VM the other day just for running WHM DNS ONLY.

    I never looked for HD requirements and everything is running fine.
    I just got a 87% full message this morning from the server.
    This is for the /dev/vda1 mount.

    is the recommended hard drive space different for the DNS ONLY install?
    is adding domains a big factor in hard drive space? 20 domains to 1000 domains?



    Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Beyond the initial installation of the OS and cPanel, the primary additional space required is for your DNS Zones. Where is the majority of the space usage coming from on this system? Is it continuing to increase?

    Thank you.
     
  3. mferry

    mferry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Well I took the smallest VM I could get.
    I am happy with the ram and processor.

    But the HD was only a 5GB.
    I was thinking this would be fine for DNS ONLY.

    I didn't think much more about it.
    It is at 87% at this time.

    only 4 domain zone files at this time.

    Thanks.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    5G is a relatively small for the installation of cPanel and your OS. You might be fine, but you should keep a close eye on your available space.

    Thank you.
     
  5. mferry

    mferry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks for the input.

    I do appreciate it.
    Everything is working fine as far as I know.

    I will monitor.
    I will check the server rotation for logs.

    Thanks again.
     
  6. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Run an entire DNS cluster on 5GB VPSs, and have never had an issue. Disk usage is around 3GB or so.
     
Loading...

Share This Page