The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Edit/Delete DNS Zones has nothing listed

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Babylon, Dec 19, 2006.

  1. Babylon

    Babylon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can't be sure when this error first occurred, as I rarely have to look near the DNS functions. However, someone recently had a problem adding a subdomain to their account finding it just won't resolve.

    I checked out DNS Functions >> Delete a DNS Zone and found nothing is in fact listed. The same is true for DNS Functions >> Edit a DNS Zone. Now I know everything still exists in BIND because existing sites continue to resolve just fine. I tried restarting BIND, and that worked fine, but it didn't solve the problem with DNS Functions in WHM.

    Version of software in case it helps: WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R79


    Also, here's the latest entries in my error_log file.

    When I tried to search for "Compress::Zlib" under Software >> Install a Perl Module the following error message was also added to error_log.
     

    Attached Files:

    • dns.gif
      dns.gif
      File size:
      3.9 KB
      Views:
      58
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You need to upgrade both your version of cPanel and your version of perl. Perl v5.8.0 doesn't support several of the required modules for cPanel these days as it is so old. There's a tarball upgrade on layer1.cpanel.net.
     
  3. benito

    benito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mar del Plata - Argentina
    I´m having exactly this issue but with the latest perl version :(

    Code:
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.7/Compress/Zlib.pm line 9.
    Compilation failed in require at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Gzip.pm line 14.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Gzip.pm line 14.
    Compilation failed in require at /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/dnsadmin line 16.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/dnsadmin line 16.
    proftpd: no process killed
     is only avaliable with the XS version at /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.7/Compress/Zlib.pm line 9
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.7/Compress/Zlib.pm line 9.
    Compilation failed in require at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Gzip.pm line 14.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Gzip.pm line 14.
    Compilation failed in require at /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/dnsadmin line 16.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/dnsadmin line 16.
     
  4. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I had the same issue not long ago.

    Try this:

    /scripts/perlinstaller Compress::Raw::Zlib
    /scripts/perlinstaller --force Scalar::Util

    Chris. :)
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    All you should need to do is to make sure you're running the latest version of cPanel, and if not, run /scripts/upcp
     
  6. benito

    benito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mar del Plata - Argentina
  7. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    What other problems are you having, what OS are you using?

    Chris.
     
Loading...

Share This Page