The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM First Time Install

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rcreasey, Mar 28, 2005.

  1. rcreasey

    rcreasey Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just installed cpanel onto a brand new install of RHEL ES 3.4 and all seems to have gone well. Unfortunately, when I try to load up the WHM for the first time (https://XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:2087/), it prompts for a username and password. Since I can't seem to find any reference to which username and password to use in the documentation, I assume it's the root password. I try those, and then the page never loads. It just sits there, continually waiting for the page to finish loading. It must be trying to do something, because other username attempts immediately are rejected and that's it. When I put in the root username and password, it "goes" but never finishes.

    What can I do to get this up and running? This install is part of a evaluation of different control panel systems and this doesn't seem to bode well. If I can't get this to work, we're just going to scrap cpanel and move to the next one on the list.

    - Ryan
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    try

    /etc/init.d/cpanel restart

    from the comand line and see if you have any errors
     
  3. rcreasey

    rcreasey Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay... Aside from requests taking an abnormal time to load, where am I supposed to install my 'Evaluation License'?

    Why isn't this kind of stuff documented?

    - Ryan
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You need to email billing@cpanel.net and request a trial license form them, they will need the main IP address of your server.
     
  5. rcreasey

    rcreasey Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've already done that. Wait, are you saying that I merely provide them with the IP and they automatically connect to my machine and validate the license?

    - Ryan
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
Loading...

Share This Page