The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Freezes Server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AndyReed, Apr 7, 2006.

  1. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    First, check the log files for any errors leading to the cause of the freeze/crash.
     
  2. humba

    humba Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having a strange problem when logged in to WHM, the server freezes and everything (http, ftp, ssh, mail, etc.) stops working whenever I click on any link in WHM ("List Accounts" for example). I had to request for a reboot every time and the server will be back online until i click any link in WHM again!

    How do I fix this please? Thanks!
     
  3. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    What o/s are you running?
     
  4. humba

    humba Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Apr 5 04:54:25 server kernel: hda: dma_intr: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekCompl
    ete Error }
    Apr 5 04:54:25 server kernel: hda: dma_intr: error=0x40 { UncorrectableError },
    LBAsect=51517957, sector=61696
    Apr 6 23:21:58 server kernel: hda: dma_timer_expiry: dma status == 0x20
    Apr 6 23:22:04 server kernel: hda: (__ide_dma_test_irq) called while not waitin
    g
    Apr 7 10:13:21 server kernel: hda: dma_intr: bad DMA status (dma_stat=30)
    Apr 7 10:13:21 server kernel: hda: dma_intr: status=0x50 { DriveReady SeekCompl
    ete }

    Could it be a bad drive? Prior to this, everyone on the server is experiencing write errors due to everything being "read-only". I tried remounting to rw but to no avail.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    IF the drive has been mounted by the OS as read-only it means that it found serious file-system corruption. You'll need to have that disk replaced ASAP as it could probably fail at any time.
     
Loading...

Share This Page