The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM FTP Backup Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kabatak, Feb 19, 2013.

  1. kabatak

    kabatak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    When using "Remote FTP" as backup type, do you still need to have enough storage locally? For example my local server is now 9GB out of 10GB then I use Remote FTP, my remote server has 20GB free space. Will that work fine or do I need at least 20GB free space first in my local server?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You will need to have enough free space to package your largest account. Thus, you should have at least 3G of free space if your largest account is 1G.

    Thank you.
     
  3. kabatak

    kabatak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I see, is the file being created just temporary? Like if the transfer is complete the copy will be deleted in the local server?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, a temporary copy of the archive is stored until the transfer of that archive to the remote server is complete.

    Thank you.
     
  5. kabatak

    kabatak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks for the clarification.
     
Loading...

Share This Page