The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Function : List accounts crashes server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xerive, Nov 12, 2006.

  1. xerive

    xerive Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I am having a big big problem with my dedicated server at the moment and my so called tech support are blaming everything but themselves for the problem.

    Basically whm is fine but when I click list accounts the whole server freezes.

    And thats it? All other functions work fine but as soon as i click list accounts the whole server freezes and needs rebooting.

    My tech support has tried to blame traffic, scripts I run and the kitchen bloody sink for the problem but I have now rebooted this server over 7 times today and run putty to check the load and its at 0.11 so I go to whm click list accounts and bang its gone again EVERY TIME!

    Any ideas as i am DESPERATE?
     
  2. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    How many accounts are on the server? What is your server spec like? You may just want to update cPanel as that might fix the problem...

    From,
    Adam
     
  3. xerive

    xerive Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Their are around 200 accounts on the server and its spec is a 2.8 pentium with 1 gig memory.

    I have listed the accounts many many times before then all of a sudden it just starts crashing.

    According to my tech support they have updated cpanel and it is still freezing out. They initially blamed a script i was running so i disabled it waited 10 hours and went back to whm to run list accounts and guess what it froze again!
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is just a wild guess, are there any disk errors occurring with the drive(s) ?
     
  5. xerive

    xerive Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well my tech guy said the did a check on the disk's and they were fine but to be honest I am beginning to doubht the competancy of this tech person.

    He was adamant it was a script i was running yet i run the script on another server from the same company with no problems. I also disabled the script (to stop him using this as an excuse) and it still freezes only when I want to list accounts!!!! ITS FRUSTRATING!

    Would a recompile of apache do anygood? If I was to ask them to reinstall WHM I assume I would lose all my accounts aswell?
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Recompiling Apache won't help as it's not used in WHM.

    There is a lot of disk activity when creating the list of accounts, which is why I had the wild guess of drive problems.

    Check your httpd.conf file, and any other files that contain account information (inlcluding files in /etc and /var/cpanel). Maybe one of them is corrupt or contains wild information that causes the process to lock.

    Also, when the server freezes, can you ping it? Can you SSH into it?

    In the past did you ever upgrade cPanel to EDGE, then revert to Stable, Release or Current?
     
  7. xerive

    xerive Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have just asked my tech guy this so will let you know the response I get.

    Apparently they have done a full disk check but to be honest my opinion of their technical expertise is greatly diminished.
     
  8. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    make sure you force upcp

    also ..make sure this isn't a browser issue or client side issue.

    what happens in "top" when you try this? does it just stop? how are you rebooting? using a remote power cycle? or are you using a command?
     
  9. anushkumar

    anushkumar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    whats the setting in WHM => Tweak Setting => Number (or all) of accounts to display per page in list accounts (30 is used if nothing is specified).: (?)

    Limit it to default.

    or is there any errors in your cpanel logs? Output can give a fair idea..
     
  10. bloggerman

    bloggerman Registered

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is a disk error issue or some memory leakage or BOTH... Have whomever fully test them and get the results and post them here ;).
     
  11. xerive

    xerive Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have posted your questions to my tech guy and am awaiting their info.

    Accounts are set to the default 30. As I said up to a few days ago it would list them fine and then all of a sudden it just started crashing.

    I agree that it is either a corrupt segment on the hard drive or indeed corrupt memory and finally the tech people are starting to think like me. Initially all they wanted to do was blame a script i was running. Its taken about 5 days and me totally disabelling the script for them to see that hmm it may be something else.

    I am no network engineer but I have repaired individual PC's for years and this in my mind demonstrates bad memory chips but we will wait and see.
     
Loading...

Share This Page