The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

whm gone crazy! HELP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ephekt, May 8, 2006.

  1. ephekt

    ephekt Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi. So i went to update apache to 4.4.2 and when it finished its build it gave this error message:

    make php-4.4.2...(install).... . . . . Done

    Now this could have just been a problem i thought. so here is my httpd as well as the command error when i, in ssh type: service httpd start.


    Here is my config:
    Line Two:
    If i were to remove line 2 then this is the next error:

    That is all i really know. Im using the latest Release of Cpanel/WHM. THank you for all of your help! (oh yeah, Centos!)
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Keep line 2 as it and try adding the below line in your httpd.conf file :-
    LoadModule alias_module /etc/httpd/modules/mod_alias.so

    Save the file and stop/start apache.
     
  3. ephekt

    ephekt Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    whats weird is that that directory does not exist. maybe that could be the reason this is having problems. I ordered this server from layered-tech and they set up the whm. and put the stuff all over the place but my apache is in usr/local/apache. and then i have etc/httpd/ but no modules directory. is there a way to find where the httpd folder is, or searching for this file via ssh? Thanks alot for your help and just to ask do you know of any companies who aid in first time set ups (i understand it will cost some money), because i really dont know what is wrong with this thing. thanks for all of your help!
     
  4. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Use 'locate' command to search the required files. Below is the syntax :-
    locate filename

    for ex.
    locate mod_alias.so
     
  5. tutt

    tutt Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same issue for me. I found the mod_alias.so file at /usr/local/apache/libexec and added it... still same thing.
     
  6. tutt

    tutt Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got the webserver started by moving all the LoadModule directives to the top of the file. I also had to add a LoadModule directive for EACH AND EVERY AddModule directive that existed. Some I didn't get working yet either so my server is no longer doing logging. cPANEL: YOU NEED TO LET ME KNOW WHAT IS UP WITH THIS AND HOW I CAN UNMUTILATE MY httpd.conf TO GET THINGS WORKING NORMALLY AGAIN.

    This is sloppy, I know, but this is what my httpd.conf looks like:

    LoadModule env_module libexec/mod_env.so
    #LoadModule log_config_module libexec/mod_log_config.so
    LoadModule mime_module libexec/mod_mime.so
    LoadModule negotiation_module libexec/mod_negotiation.so
    LoadModule status_module libexec/mod_status.so
    #LoadModule include_module libexec/mod_include.so
    LoadModule autoindex_module libexec/mod_autoindex.so
    LoadModule dir_module libexec/mod_dir.so
    LoadModule cgi_module libexec/mod_cgi.so
    LoadModule asis_module libexec/mod_asis.so
    #LoadModule actions_module libexec/mod_actions.so
    LoadModule userdir_module libexec/mod_userdir.so
    LoadModule alias_module libexec/mod_alias.so
    LoadModule rewrite_module libexec/mod_rewrite.so
    LoadModule access_module libexec/mod_access.so
    LoadModule auth_module libexec/mod_auth.so
    LoadModule expires_module libexec/mod_expires.so
    #LoadModule so_module libexec/mod_so.so
    LoadModule setenvif_module libexec/mod_setenvif.so
    LoadModule bwlimited_module libexec/mod_bwlimited.so
    #LoadModule log_bytes_module libexec/mod_log_bytes.so
    LoadModule auth_passthrough_module libexec/mod_auth_passthrough.so
    LoadModule rewrite_module libexec/mod_rewrite.so
    LoadModule expires_module libexec/mod_expires.so
    LoadModule php4_module libexec/libphp4.so
    LoadModule bwlimited_module libexec/mod_bwlimited.so
    LoadModule bytes_log_module libexec/mod_log_bytes.so
    LoadModule auth_passthrough_module libexec/mod_auth_passthrough.so

    Alias /bandwidth/ /usr/local/bandmin/htdocs/
    #-

    ...etc. You can see I commented out the modules that gave me more errors, but this was enough (after also commenting out the LogFormat and CustomLog directives associated with the log modules) to get the webserver started. WHAT HAPPENED?
     
  7. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This has happened to a few server after I have did an Apache Update. I am affraid to update any other server until there is some kind of fix for this.

    It is funny that no one from cPanel has commented on this.

    Tracy
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    And they won't. These are not cPanel official support forums. If you want help from them you should go through the normal support channels.

    WRT to the OP problem, whenever I've seen such issues with building apache+php through WHM, I find it usually works if you use the shell UI instead:

    /scripts/easyapache
     
  9. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have tried to do it in ssh.

    I guess I will wait for days on cPanel support.

    Tracy
     
  10. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I guess they do not work on the weekends.

    Anyhow I put in a ticket:

    cPanel ID# 144053

    Thanks,

    Tracy
     
Loading...

Share This Page