Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

WHM has detected a manual hostname change.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by twhiting9275, Dec 1, 2014.

  1. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please, for the love of all that is holy stop with this. Changing the hostname via shell is not a 'misconfiguration', it does not mean something is wrong, and we shouldn't have to see alerts on dozens of servers continually because cPanel thinks there's something wrong.

    cPanel and WHM are breaking things more and more and it's just becoming annoying. Just stop trying to force your own settings here. Be the helpful tool you're supposed to be, not the annoyance you want to be.

    TYVM
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,806
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    This feature was implemented because it was becoming increasingly more common to see users who manually change their hostname, without updating the proper cPanel configuration files. This was leading to services (e.g. Apache + mod_security + mod_unique_id) that would not restart. That being said, we appreciate your feedback and you are welcome to submit a feature request for the ability to disable this notification or for a feature that makes changing the hostname from the command-line easier:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    except, the hostname hasn't changed... That's the point.
    Nobody's done anything to change any of the dozens of hostnames here. Your software is smoking something
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,479
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There's no need to be offensive here on these forums.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,806
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It's possible the change is coming from the VPS hardware node (if these are VPS machines) or some other process. Could you submit a support ticket so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Any outcome to this, I got the same message the morning and nothing has changed on my server that I know of to cause this.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,806
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Could you let us know if this a VPS or a dedicated server? If it's a VPS, which virtualization software do you or your VPS hosting provider utilize?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    VPS - 100% KVM Virtualization.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,806
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice