The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM hostname public_html location

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Devgineer, Dec 19, 2012.

1. Devgineer

Devgineer Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

I have been using CPanel since 2009 and quickly became a WHM reseller. I am currently running my own server and am now setting up two more.

Anyways, I would like to know how to add an index.html and .htaccess file to the hostname. When you setup WHM it asks for a hostname and this gets added to Home » IP Functions » Show IP Address Usage and also Home »
    IP Functions » Show or Delete Current IP Addresses.

I was able to setup a new user on my first CPanel account with their IP address set to the main address somehow. This allowed me to create a splashpage for the hostname.

Does anybody know how to either
    A) create a new user and assign that user the server hostname as an addon domain or main domain?
    B) location of directory where I can put an index.html file with a .htaccess through ssh sftp?

thank you.

2. Devgineer

Devgineer Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So I ran find -name httpd.conf and looked at the virtual host file in:
    /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

I then navigated to:
    /usr/local/apache/htdocs/

I added a .htaccess file but it has no effect. I can edit index.html and see those changes work though.

I'm still puzzled over how I got the reseller account associated with the main IP on my first server though. Any ideas?

3. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)