The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM How to create new account with new IP address

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by markuswest, Oct 21, 2013.

  1. markuswest

    markuswest Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I am new at this, in my situation we have a dedicated server and our previous web solution company have migrated the website from a Amazon server to a Afrihost server here is South Africa and that is working very good, however on the dedicated server I want to create a new account for a new website where I will be developing a brand new website.

    But I have seen I need a new IP so I have contacted our Web Host and they gave me a new IP and under "IP Functions » Add a New IP Address" I have added the new IP with a sub net mask of 255.255.255.0 and then I have hit "Submit" WHM responded with "Success" so now I have the IP.

    Now I need to create the account, so under "Account Functions » Create a New Account" I fill in the domain info as:
    [Domain Information]
    Domain: dev.domain.co.za
    username: userhere (auto generated)
    Password: (as from the password generator)
    Re-type Password: (as above)
    email: user @ domain.co.za[/email]

    [Package]
    Select options manually: checked
    (everything is set to unlimited etc.)
    but under "Settings" I select "Dedicated IP" as Checked,
    and want to select the IP, but I only see --Auto Assign-- ? huh...

    Shell Access: checked
    FrontPage Extensions: un-checked
    CGI Access: checked
    Digest Authentication for Web Disk: un-checked
    cPanel Theme: x3
    Locale: english

    [Reseller Settings]
    un-checked

    [DNS Settings]
    Enable DKIM on this account: checked
    Enable SPF on this account (v=spf1 +a +mx +ip4:197.242.xxx.xxx ?all): un-checked
    Use the nameservers specified at the Domain's Registrar: un-checked
    (ignore locally specified nameservers)
    Overwrite any existing DNS zones for the account un-checked
    Nameservers:
    ns.dns1.co.za
    ns.dns2.co.za
    ns.otherdns.com
    ns.otherdns.net​

    [Mail Routing Settings]
    Automatically Detect Configuration (recommended) (selected)

    And I have seen WHM responded with: failed, you need more IP address, how do select the new IP address which I have added earlier to the new account?

    All the best-
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Make sure the new IP address is available under:

    "WHM Home » IP Functions » Show or Delete Current IP Addresses"

    If it is available, and not assigned to any other accounts, you should be able to leave "Auto-Assign" enabled during account creation. Or, simply assign it a shared IP and change it to the dedicated IP address via:

    "WHM Home » Account Functions » Change Site’s IP Address"

    Thank you.
     
  3. markuswest

    markuswest Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Thanx for your reply,

    I have looked under: "WHM Home » IP Functions » Show or Delete Current IP Addresses" and I saw no new IP, is there a way to find the new IP? and I also want to change the subnet mask

    I also seen under "Home » IP Functions » Rebuild the IP Address Pool" the IP isn't there, "System has 0 free ips." :confused:
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It sounds like the IP address was not added. You can try restarting the "ipaliases" service via:

    Code:
    service ipaliases restart
    However, you may want to try adding the IP address again if it's still not added:

    "WHM Home » IP Functions » Add a New IP Address"

    Thank you.
     
  5. markuswest

    markuswest Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have tried to add the IP again, but the system responded with "skipped, IP already added" and for the command line putty returned:

    root@beadsforyoucc [~]# service ipaliases restart
    Bringing up eth0:cp1 SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth0:cp1: unknown interface: No such device
    SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
    SIOCGIFADDR: No such device
    SIOCSIFBROADCAST: No such device
    SIOCSIFBRDADDR: No such device
    eth0:cp1: unknown interface: No such device
    [FAILED]
    Routing 197.242.150.252 SIOCADDRT: No such device
    [FAILED]
    root@beadsforyoucc [~]#

    Can you please advise me
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It looks like you may have configured the wrong interface. What's the primary interface you see when running the "ifconfig" command? Ensure that same interface is used under "Basic Config" in "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Basic cPanel & WHM Setup".

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page