The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Install Problems..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cdsoccer, Jan 5, 2006.

  1. cdsoccer

    cdsoccer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok Im installing WHM on a new server. The OS is Fedora Core 2. The install went fine till it got to layer 2. Then I get this error.

    Code:
    Layer1 Install Complete...starting Layer2!! Unable to write to /etc: Read-only file system at ./install line 546.
    So I check my permissions on /etc. So I run ls -ld /etc /etc/fstab

    and I get this

    Code:
    drwxr-xr-x  61 root root 12288 Jan  4 23:17 /etc 
              -rw-r--r--   1 root root   618 Jan  4 08:06 /etc/fstab
    
    Looks ok...the permissions are ok. Any ideas whats wrong and how can I fix.... as of now the installation aborts after this....



    Ohh BTW.. the line 546 in the install is this

    Code:
    if ( ! -e '/etc/cpupdate.conf' )
    open(CPU,'>>','/etc/cpupdate.conf') || die "Unable to write to /etc: $!";
        if ($type =~ /dnsonly/i) {
            print CPU "CPANEL=dnsonly\n";
        } else {
            print CPU "CPANEL=release\n";
        }
        close(CPU);
    }
     {
     
    #1 cdsoccer, Jan 5, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2006
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    on shell as root type:

    #mount

    paste the results here.

    also check if /etc/cpupdate.conf has a 644
     
  3. cdsoccer

    cdsoccer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [root@localhost installd]# mount
    /dev/hda2 on / type ext3 (rw)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    usbdevfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbdevfs (rw)
    /dev/hda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)


    and there is no cpupdate.conf in etc.. I have looked high and low..

    alls there is is a cpuspeed.conf
     
  4. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When it gets to layer2 it can't find the build to send you.

    The cpudate.conf contains your update preferences and is maintained ironically by WHM as it is a menu item in WHM.
    Server Configuration/Update Config

    It contains this on a server of mine that I use for EDGE builds.

    CPANEL=manual-edge
    RPMUP=daily
    SYSUP=daily


    Permissions are root:root 0644

    You are welcome to create the file and use this or you can change it to manual-release (or stable) etc.

    The other 2 entries are self explanatory I believe.

    Thats all I can suggest to get you past that spot at least.

    :)
     
  5. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    the sad part is that his /etc is read only and he cant create any files there.
     
  6. cdsoccer

    cdsoccer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    we are working on that now.. hopefully that can be fixed without too much hassle..
     
  7. cdsoccer

    cdsoccer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    new os installed.. installing cpanel...hopefully this goes ok
     
  8. cdsoccer

    cdsoccer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well it hung after 2 hours.. in the log it says Httpd started ok and that was the last entry.... I restarted the installl and had to kill those upcp pids.. there were 2... so not its installing again... if any one has any ideas as to why it hung... let me know..



    this is in installer over and over... but install continues..

    Unable to locate working spamc! Please check your installation.
    Unable to locate working spamd! Please check your installation.
    Unable to locate working spamassassin! Please check your installation.
    Testing connection speed...(this could take a while)....Done
    Three usable mirrors located


    ok Install says it finished...

    now when I try to connect to my WHM login in browser on port 2086 it says...

    Invalid Hostname. (This account is currently not available.). Hostnames may not contains spaces or tabs.
     
    #8 cdsoccer, Jan 5, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2006
  9. cdsoccer

    cdsoccer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok i got it up and running but there are problems.. service status is missing like half the services....
    not to mention account creation does not do what its supposed to do.. it just instantly says "account created"... any ideas?


    exim will not start neither will mysql.. and exim is missing in /etc/rc.d/init.d and so is cpanel.. so i cant restart cpanel either.
     
    #9 cdsoccer, Jan 5, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2006
  10. clara

    clara Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The same thing here, on RHEL 4. I am in the middle of new installation (the agony of installing os and cpanel freezing party continues for five days now), and thread0 stops at "sshd started OK"; while thread1 has "restart httpd ok".Help?
     
  11. iko

    iko Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Install manually any perl module to create a configuration for CPAN e.g.

    perl -MCPAN -e 'install Net::AIM'

    Answer all questions asked and wait for the install of the module to complete.

    Run /scripts/upcp and check for errors. It should complete and install cPanel correctly.
     
  12. Stephanie_R

    Stephanie_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had a similar situation on a fresh install today.
    If you run:

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules

    This will ensure a proper perl setup, then:

    /scripts/upcp --force

    Hope it helps, CPAN is a bit messy atm.
     
Loading...

Share This Page