The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM IPv6 Range Assignment issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ysk, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. ysk

    ysk Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have been assigned with IPv6 (/64) range from provider for my cPanel VPS, now issue is, out of which one IPv6 belongs to network gateway in that range.

    Example Range:

    IPv6 Range: 2001:0db8:85a3::/64
    Start Range: 2001:db8:85a3:0:0:0:0:0
    End Range: 2001:db8:85a3:0:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff

    Now out of which 2001:db8:85a3:0:0:0:0:1 is Gateway

    When i use WHM -> Enable IPv6
    It assigns IPv6 to website from range which without filtering out getway IPv6 address from range.

    Can someone tell me what is right way to avoid IPv6 conflict and how to avoid WHM to assign Gateway IPv6 to domain?

    Thank you
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you open a support ticket so we can take a closer look at this issue and determine if an internal case is necessary? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  3. tsiedsma

    tsiedsma Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm seeing this same issue. I added my range as 2a03:8180:1001:XXXX::/64 to cPanel and it tried to assign 2a03:8180:1001:XXXX:: and 2a03:8180:1001:XXXX::1 to accounts when I click enable ipv6 on an account. Shouldn't those addresses be skipped by default and not have to be excluded manually?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The following third-party tool provides the start and end IPv6 address for an IPv6 address range using CIDR notation:

    https://www.ultratools.com/tools/rangeToipv6CIDR

    Could you verify exactly how you added the range in Web Host Manager?

    Thank you.
     
  5. tsiedsma

    tsiedsma Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi, I added the range to WHM as 2a03:8180:1001:XXXX::/64
    Edit:, I've now added the range as 2a03:8180:1001:XXXX:0:0:1:0/112 since there is really no need for that many addresses on a cPanel server. This will eliminate the previous issue but I believe it is still an issue that needs addressing.

    On a side note, is there a public roadmap for the future of ipv6 support in cPanel? It's been almost a year since the blog post that announced the Apache support and the current implementation of ipv6 support. Aren't we due for some added ipv6 support?
     
    #5 tsiedsma, May 19, 2014
    Last edited: May 19, 2014
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please ensure you submit bug reports for flaws in the product:

    Submit A Bug Report

    A public road map is not available, but we are happy to hear your feedback. What missing IPv6 functionality are you most in need of? Is there a particular service that you would like to see IPv6 support with sooner than other services?

    Thank you.
     
  7. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Had the same problem as well. What I did was simply create a bogus subdomain and have that get assigned the gateway IP. Then subsequent domains would not be assigned that address.
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What additional functionality with IPv6 are you seeking?

    Please consider adding your vote to our existing IPv6 feature requests: Search Results (8) - | cPanel Feature Requests

    If you don't see there the functionality you want, please add a request.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page