The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM nameserver step by step

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by conanqtran, Feb 23, 2003.

  1. conanqtran

    conanqtran Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hi all, i'm new to WHM and just got my dedicated box, was just wondering if any1 would help me with this:

    In WHM, i have these settings:

    main shared ip: 85.36.24.10 (example only)

    hostname: myhost.mydomain.com

    primary name server: ns1.mydomain.com (assigned to: 85.36.24.10)

    secondary name server: ns2.mydomain.com(assigned to: 85.36.24.11)

    third name server: ns3.mydomain.com(assigned to: 85.36.24.12)

    What do i put in the fields for Resolver Configuration? I use my server as the primary DNS

    I also have register one of my domains as a name server and assign to the 3 ip address above.

    Then i assigned other domain to use: ns1.mydomain.com, ns2.mydomain.com, ns3.mydomain.com as the name server

    Are all these setting correct? do i need to do anything esle for the ns to work?

    Any help would be much appreciated,

    ps: i know that it will take aprox 24 to 72 hours for nameserver change to take affact, but i just want to make sure what i'm doing is right

    Thanks guys
     
  2. conanqtran

    conanqtran Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne
    by the way, i got all working :D , got 28 viewers but noone seems to care much, i wonder how good this support forum is :rolleyes:
     
  3. brandonk

    brandonk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sounds like you are doing everything right. I think the info in the Resolver config is from your ISP.
     
  4. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. ilmickeyli

    ilmickeyli Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I cannot get to that thread.. Doh.. I really am lost and was hoping I could get some help.

    Thanks though.
     
  6. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try this, the forum changed awhile back:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1372&highlight=nameservers

    forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1372&highlight=nameservers

    See:
    "The purpose of this howto is getting your DNS server in Cpanel to work by considering Cpanel 5 new features..."


    if not search for 'itf' as the author and dns or nameservers.

    oh, yeah, almost forgot, thanks a ton to itf!
     
    #6 fuzzie, Mar 25, 2003
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2003
Loading...

Share This Page