The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM | Need some assistance adding IP Name Servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by davida50000, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. davida50000

    davida50000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I offer reseller website hosting and i had a customer who wanted to be able to use their own customer name servers instead of having to use ours.

    I spoke to my Datacenter and i ordered 2 additional IP addresses for both of the new name servers for the customer and i added them into cPanel.

    After doing that i went into the reseller centre and clicked on " Edit reseller privileges & nameservers"

    I scrolled to the bottom of the page and entered the nameservers like this:

    ns1.clientdomain.com
    ns1.clientdomain.com

    I then pressed "Assign IP".

    It assigns an IP address to the nameserver however it is assigning the wrong domain to the wrong nameserver, how can i choose what domain i would actually like to assign? Or am i doing all of this wrong?

    Thanks in advance.

    David.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Both nameservers had different hostnames, or did you really set 2 nameservers up to have ns1.clientdomain.com? Usually, folks set up ns1.clientdomain.com and ns2.clientdomain.com.

    Is "clientdomain.com" the primary domain of the reseller account?

    Also, did you also click the "add A entry for this namesserver" for both nameservers?
     
  3. davida50000

    davida50000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry, my mistake, nameservers were:

    ns1.clientdomain.com
    ns2.clientdomain.com

    Also, yes the name servers are of the primary domain on the reseller account.

    What does the A entry do? And no i have not done it, was a little confused about what it actually did.

    Thanks again,

    David.
     
  4. Vinu007

    Vinu007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Have you choose the correct domain name from Reseller Center >>> before pressing the option edit reseller privileges for which you are trying to edit nameserver for...?
     
  5. rgpayne

    rgpayne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Edit dns record for client domain

    add a record for ns1 to ip1
    add a record for ns2 to ip2

    under reseller info
    enter ns1clientdomain.com and ns2.cleintdomain.com
    be sure you have enabled shared name server in your config
    restart named and let your customer know to start using name servers
     
  6. davida50000

    davida50000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have done all that thanks.

    But:

    1. What is an A Entry?

    2. When i add a IP to the Name Server it choose the IP itself, how can I define the actually IP addresses i want it to use instead of it being automatic.

    Thanks,

    David.
     
  7. davida50000

    davida50000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you so much for the help so far

    However i am starting to get a little confused now most likely because the posts are split up into more than 1 post.

    Do you think somebody could sort of tell me again from start to finish how i should allow my reseller client to use his own name servers after i have purchased 2 additional IP's from the datacenter.

    Thanks again so far, i really appreciate it!

    David.
     
  8. Vinu007

    Vinu007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Okay, here you go >>>

    First of all contact the reseller client >>> provide him the 2 IP's you purchased from data-center >>> ask your reseller client to contact his domain registrar where he has registered his main reseller domain name. Now register the private nameserver's ( be sure registering the domain name and registering private nameserver's both varies from each other ) >>> assign those two IP's with the private nameserver's.

    Now login to WHM as root >>> go to reseller center >>> select the correct reseller account >>> click on edit reseller privileges >>> once in scroll down to bottom of the page and add the nameserver's same as how it has been registered at domain registrar end.

    That is : ns1.resellerdomain.com : 123.231.321.213 and
    ns2.resellerdomain.com : 321.231.312.132

    Hope this has cleared all your doubts.

    Thanks,
    Vinu007
     
  9. Vinu007

    Vinu007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Forget to mention :

    Make sure you allow reseller client to edit nameserver's on his own. You should get this option in the Edit reseller privileges itself. So the reseller client won't bother you again and again.

    Hope this is more clear now.

    Thanks,
    Vinu007
     
  10. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is actually not necessary to do anything to your server other than the "Edit reseller" option you just mentioned and put in their DNS server names and edit the zone for their resellers domain to add "A" records for those nameservers.

    *** IT IS NOT NECESSARY TO ORDER ADDITIONAL IPS FOR YOUR SERVER THOUGH YOU COULD OPTIONALLY DO THIS BUT NOT REQUIRED ***

    (Most people don't realize this little tidbit above)

    The reseller would need to go to their registrar where they purchased their domain and registered their domain to create the nameservers with the same host names and IPs as what you used in the first part of this.

    Ironically that could be the same IP numbers as your own DNS servers or could be a new set of IP addresses. All that matters is that it matches what you used on the server in the first step above.
     
  11. huafeihua116

    huafeihua116 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Great!That is useful for me !
     
Loading...

Share This Page