The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM News Icons won't load

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sneader, Oct 20, 2003.

  1. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It takes forever for WHM News to load. I noticed all these icons trying to load, but they are failing. Here is an example of one of the icons (by right clicking on the icon and choosing properties in IE -- I've changed my server name in this example to www.myserver.com for a little privacy)

    https://www.myserver.com:2087/scripts2/objcache?obj=http://web.cpanel.net/whmnews/images/secure.gif

    If I put this URL into my browser, I get a prompt to log into WHM, then it hangs for a while, then I get:

    Timeout while trying to fetch http://web.cpanel.net/whmnews/images/secure.gif...HTTP/1.0 200 OK Connection: close Server: whostmgr/8.5.4

    I can ping web.cpanel.net in less than 50ms with no timeouts, as well as layer1 and layer2. It doesn't appear to be a connectivity issue.

    I can also reproduce this by using http / :2086, so it isn't an SSL thing I don't think.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Try changing the theme to something other than x and see what happens.
     
  3. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for all your help, Casey! I appreciate you taking time to answer posts like this!

    I changed it to the "Black" theme and have the same results. Any other ideas?

    - Scott
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Darn. I was hoping that would be a lead. Are you pinging cpanel from your server or your home computer?
     
  5. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    pinging from the server, using SSH.

    It appears there are some other things not working right, and they may be related to this, so I'm going to work on those and see if it all works out.

    I'll reply back if/when I get this figured out.

    Thanks!

    - Scott
     
Loading...

Share This Page