Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

WHM News Icons won't load

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sneader, Oct 20, 2003.

  1. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It takes forever for WHM News to load. I noticed all these icons trying to load, but they are failing. Here is an example of one of the icons (by right clicking on the icon and choosing properties in IE -- I've changed my server name in this example to www.myserver.com for a little privacy)

    https://www.myserver.com:2087/scripts2/objcache?obj=http://web.cpanel.net/whmnews/images/secure.gif

    If I put this URL into my browser, I get a prompt to log into WHM, then it hangs for a while, then I get:

    Timeout while trying to fetch http://web.cpanel.net/whmnews/images/secure.gif...HTTP/1.0 200 OK Connection: close Server: whostmgr/8.5.4

    I can ping web.cpanel.net in less than 50ms with no timeouts, as well as layer1 and layer2. It doesn't appear to be a connectivity issue.

    I can also reproduce this by using http / :2086, so it isn't an SSL thing I don't think.

    Any ideas?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Try changing the theme to something other than x and see what happens.
     
  3. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for all your help, Casey! I appreciate you taking time to answer posts like this!

    I changed it to the "Black" theme and have the same results. Any other ideas?

    - Scott
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Darn. I was hoping that would be a lead. Are you pinging cpanel from your server or your home computer?
     
  5. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    pinging from the server, using SSH.

    It appears there are some other things not working right, and they may be related to this, so I'm going to work on those and see if it all works out.

    I'll reply back if/when I get this figured out.

    Thanks!

    - Scott
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice