WHM Not Completely Deleting Account info

k8jsl

Member
Sep 25, 2005
10
0
151
I had several accounts set up, in an re-organization of the system, I deleted all accounts.
When I started to set the accounts back up.. WHM tells me the username is already in use to check the '/etc/passwd' file.... yep all those accounts I HAD are still in the file...

How do I get rid of them from the passwd file ?????
 

chirpy

Well-Known Member
Verifed Vendor
Jun 15, 2002
13,453
31
473
Go on, have a guess
You can try using userdel however, if they're still there because of corruption in one of the account files (passwd, shadow, group, gshadow) then you'll have to either reapir that damage and/or remove them from those files manually.