The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

whm plugin how to get username

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by hostydotnet, Mar 16, 2008.

  1. hostydotnet

    hostydotnet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi,

    if you are making a plugin for whm, how do you get the username data from the api?

    i need to get the whm username so i can reference their folder in a script /home/username/folder

    im am trying to do this through perl.

    thanks,
    kevin
     
  2. hostydotnet

    hostydotnet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i guess this is the pink elephant in the room question huh? why do i always get to ask this type of question.
     
  3. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    $ENV{'REMOTE_USER'}
     
  4. hostydotnet

    hostydotnet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    almost...

    hi,

    yea. i did that before but it keeps asking for authentication when i go to the page that has that code on it.

    thanks,
    kevin quinn
     
  5. hostydotnet

    hostydotnet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi,

    oh yea, also....it thinks that everyone is root. how does cpanel, whm or whmreseller v3 do it.

    kevin quinn
     
  6. hostydotnet

    hostydotnet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    bump

    hi,

    i hate to be that guy and bump this but it is severely holding me back. this is the only site in the universe where i MIGHT get an answer.....bump.

    to recap. i tried that....it asks to authenticate. it shouldn't ask to authenticate because whm knows that you are logged in and knows what your username is.

    there has to be a more official method than $ENV{'REMOTE_USER'}

    thanks,
    kevin
     
    #6 hostydotnet, Mar 24, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page