The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Remote backup to a Windows PC

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by djoverho, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. djoverho

    djoverho Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    WV
    Hi, I'm trying to setup a pc at my home to be used as a backup for a couple of our servers. My home pc has Windows 2000 on it and the servers have RH9 with WHM. In setting up via the WhM Configure Backup option, I'm getting stuck on the backup destination. In testing this I just created a folder on my c: drive called backups, so for the destination I put in C:\backups along with the ftp address, username, and password and when I try to save it I get this:

    c:/backups is not a directory..
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss..

    Any ideas? Does this feature not work with a windows machine? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. plake

    plake Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If you are trying to setup an FTP backup folder on your win2k box then you need to make sure some type of FTP server is running..

    I would recommend for windows, using bulletproof FTP server....

    create an acct called backup

    point it at that directory, give list,read,write and if you want append permissions

    make sure you setup the username/pass

    that should do it for you...
     
  3. djoverho

    djoverho Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    WV
    Yeah, I have the ftp part running fine on my computer the problem is on the server it doesnt like put c:\backups in the destination..it seems to be thinking its on the local machine not the ftp location.
     
  4. TheVoice

    TheVoice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you don't need it to save to C:\backups since it will use directory that you set your ftpserver to.
     
Loading...

Share This Page