The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM root/reseller passwords not working.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RogelioH, Dec 15, 2003.

  1. RogelioH

    RogelioH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I tried resetting the root and a reseller password from shell and nothing.. I have shell access but whm isnt working doesn t let me log in.

    thank you.
     
  2. gopederick

    gopederick Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    passwd root
     
  3. RogelioH

    RogelioH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I ready tried all of that, it doesnt work.
     
  4. RogelioH

    RogelioH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  5. nettcom

    nettcom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    how to?

    Hello,today while we work in the webhostmanager administering resellers accounts, sundely the sistem began to ask password again(root password)and I put the root password again, but I din't have access anymore. The password is:talavera#xxxxxxxxxxxx8
    And now it was not usual anymore.
    Is this an bug in the webhostmanager? Or someone is now with the my server control? Please help us urgent!
    We are worry about.

    Now we are receiving notice from our reseller hosting, saying that they can't access the WHM and neither the CPanel (end hosting users).
    We are grateful with your right answer.


    adicional info: we are not able to login as root via SSH with that password.

    please teme if you know fix it thanks!
     
  6. RogelioH

    RogelioH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    The fix to the problem is to remove the /etc/shadow if you are on Freebsd. I did /scripts/rebuildpasswd or users or something similar which made a /etc/shadow that doesnt exist in Freebsd. Once removing that file, cpanel will start looking up at the /etc/master.shadow and not the regular /etc/shadow as in linux, if you need more help feel free to let me know.

    thank you.
     
  7. nettcom

    nettcom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your comments!

    we are using Linux (Red hat enterprise 3.0)

    best regards.
     
  8. shlamo

    shlamo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    rm -rf /etc/shadow fixed FreeBSD problem

    Thank you for posting the following:

    "The fix to the problem is to remove the /etc/shadow if you are on Freebsd. I did /scripts/rebuildpasswd or users or something similar which made a /etc/shadow that doesnt exist in Freebsd. Once removing that file, cpanel will start looking up at the /etc/master.shadow and not the regular /etc/shadow as in linux, if you need more help feel free to let me know."

    I was told by my ISP (ThePlanet) that my passwd file was corrupt, etc. but I knew that this wasn't the case. Using rm -rf /etc/shadow (which I checked beforehand and it was empty) immediately allowed access back into WHM as root.

    Thank you!
     
Loading...

Share This Page