Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM screwing up permissions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xion, Nov 26, 2004.

  1. xion

    xion Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Any new account created through WHM is getting the file ownership set to the reseller account username, not the account username. Any ideas? I really don't feel like chown'ing every single new account.
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    /scripts/chownpublichtmls
     
  3. xion

    xion Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks but that doesn't fix it. The problem is not public html's. It is that WHM is not setting the permissions on any of the default files and directory structure when I create an account. And when I go to chown the account through SSH, I get this:

    root@server [/home]# chown account:account account -R
    chown: changing ownership of `account': Disk quota exceeded
    chown: changing ownership of `account/mail': Disk quota exceeded
    chown: changing ownership of `account/public_ftp': Disk quota exceeded
    chown: changing ownership of `account/public_ftp/incoming': Disk quota exceeded
    chown: changing ownership of `account/public_html': Disk quota exceeded
    chown: changing ownership of `account/public_html/cgi-bin': Disk quota exceeded
    chown: changing ownership of `account/.contactemail': Disk quota exceeded
    chown: changing ownership of `account/www': Disk quota exceeded

    But that can't be true because the disk quota is not exceeded. And there is still plenty of disk space left on the server.

    And when I run /fixquotas, i get this garble:

    Installing Default Quota Databases......Done
    Quotas are now on
    Updating Quota Files......
    quotacheck: Cannot get quotafile name for /dev/vzfs
    quotacheck: Cannot get quotafile name for /dev/vzfs


    quotacheck: Cannot get quotafile name for /dev/vzfs
    quotacheck: Cannot get quotafile name for /dev/vzfs

    ....Done
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    What is file /dev/vzfs


    have you been exploited ??
     
  5. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I know this probably won't help, but have u ran scripts/fixeverything ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page