The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whm set up domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by snowdude2004, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. snowdude2004

    snowdude2004 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Im fairly new to all this server related stuff so may be fairly basic to do this.
    I own a whm server and need to start hosting a domain on it. The domain I want on it is findingserenity.co.uk. This domain is bought and has no hosting currently.

    I tried doing it via account functions and then create an account but couldnt log in with the user/pass I had made and dont see how it would connect to the site since i wasnt able to but in the user/pass set up to log into the domain which it is registered to.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Alex
     
  2. snowdude2004

    snowdude2004 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone have a clue at all, really need to know asap so I can get this business site up and running by tomorrow!
     
  3. xerophyte

    xerophyte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    - Create the account with your domain using whm ( which i guess have finished)
    - Looks like the domain still pointing to Namesco ip (85.233.160.22). You have to ask them or login to their domain DNS interface and point to your server ip
    - after that has been fixed you should able to login with your domain name otherwise you have use the your server ip to login and http://yourserverip/~username to see the site

    hope that help
     
  4. linux7802

    linux7802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Solution

    As you have already created hosting account for your domain findingserenity.co.uk but haven't updated nameservers for your domain from domain name registrar end control panel as per your servers nameservers due to that your domain findingserenity.co.uk still resolving to ip 85.233.160.22.

    You can use server ip to access cPanel.

    http://yourserverip:2082
    or
    http://yourserverip/cpanel

    If you receive "Login Attempt Failed!" after browsing cPanel with the user/pass you have made then reset the cPanel password for your domain findingserenity.co.uk hosting account from WHM >> Main >> Account Functions >> Password Modification
     
  5. snowdude2004

    snowdude2004 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cheers for your help guys, changed it now as far as I'm aware and was able to see site map when going onto site.
    I uploaded an index file for the homepage and well now its brought it back to namesco's stupid login thing, Do I need to change more details?
    Here's a print screen of the details to change on domain login site.
    [​IMG]

    If needed will put a better quality picture of table if its not viewable
     
  6. snowdude2004

    snowdude2004 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Shouted at it a little and its now working ;)
     
  7. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been incredibly busy this week and not much on the forums and coming into this late but reading your posts and the follow up replies which were pretty much right on targt, sounds like you had 2 main issues:

    1. You domain was not pointed to your server

    For this one, you would need to of updated your domain with the correct
    nameservers at your registrar (nameco as you said in this case) and it
    generally takes about 24 hours for that to really go fully effective

    2. Might have been trying to login with WHM instead of CPANEL

    WHM is on port 2086 and 2087 and usually only allows 'root' as the login
    unless you are operating from a reseller account.

    http://yourserverip:2086/ or https://yourserverip:2087/

    For your hosting accounts you create, their login only works on CPANEL
    which only works on ports 2082 and 2083 respectively in the same way
    that WHM uses 2086 and 2087 in the links shown above respectively.
     
Loading...

Share This Page