The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Setup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Anthony Willis, Mar 31, 2017.

  1. Anthony Willis

    Anthony Willis Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm relatively new to the stuff I'm going to be asking for help on, so apologies upfront for any newbie type questions.

    Right.

    Here's a list of things that I have;
    • A new domain from GoDaddy, let's call it mynewdomain.com, not linked to any hosting, everything at default (ie no DNS stuff has been done to it yet)
    • A VPS server from GoDaddy, recently (as in an hour ago) reset to original default settings, so is also 'new'. I have updated the WHM to Version “62.0.17” do to a prompt to do so when I logged into it as the root user
    • A new SSL certificate from GoDaddy ready to be setup.

    Now, when I log into the WHM currently I have to use the ip address, lets call it 111.22.33.111, on the port of 2087 to log in (so I'm logging in from 111.22.33.111:2087). When I go here I get the standard 'Not secure' message that comes with the self-assigned SSL from WHM.

    What I would like to do from where I am at the moment is set up the server so that the domain with a 's1' prefix is used as the login and have the 'Not secure' message gone also.

    So in a nutshell;
    • 111.22.33.111:2087 will become s1.mynewdomain.com:2087
    • 'Not secure' will become Secure
    What do I need to do from where I am currently (all things new) to get to this stage.

    I will be extremely grateful if someone provides me with the solution.
     
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. Anthony Willis

    Anthony Willis Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Excellent thanks,

    How would I go about changing the 111.22.33.111:2087 to s1.mynewdomain.com:2087?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,620
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
Loading...

Share This Page