Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

WHM stuck on /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/prekillacct

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jonh, Aug 19, 2016.

  1. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm trying to terminate an account and WHM gets stuck on /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/prekillacct, just keeps spinning. What do I do?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,479
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This thread is a couple hours old now, did you leave it run?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I did, its still spinning. What next? Its nothing special, no wordpress or anything, a simple 5 page html site.
     
  4. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In the background it says:

    Account Removal Status: failed (Hook denied execution of killacct: Failed to remove these domains: sub.domain.com (last error: 'API call failed: code 404, msg "{"detail": "Not found"}".'). )

    Hook denied execution of killacct: Failed to remove these domains: sub.domain.com (last error: 'API call failed: code 404, msg "{"detail": "Not found"}".').
     
  5. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This account has already been migrated to a new server which is why I'm terminating it on this server. Since its already migrated I can't go into cpanel to delete the subdomain its mentioning.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,479
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If the account is still there on the server you should be able to access it. Depending on this option in Tweak Settings > System tab:
    "Accounts that can access a cPanel user account"

    You should be able to access the account from this page:
    WebHost manager »Account Information »List Accounts

    You're terminating the account normally from here correct?
    WebHost Manager »Account Functions »Terminate an Account
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    "If the account is still there on the server you should be able to access it. Depending on this option in Tweak Settings > System tab:"
    I can't access the account because the site has been migrated to new server. DNS points to new server. I can't terminate the account on the original server is the issue.

    "WebHost manager »Account Information »List Accounts"
    The only thing this does is list the account. No action can be taken on this screen.

    "WebHost Manager »Account Functions »Terminate an Account"
    Yes this is where it gets stuck on "Running pre removal script (/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/prekillacct)."
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,479
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Migrating the account to a new server does not remove the cPanel account or files. You don't need DNS set to the old account to access it, you only need enable that setting so root/reseller can access the account from the List Accounts page. When enabled in Tweak Settings, a new icon appears on the List Accounts page that can be clicked thru to access that account's cPanel.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. jonh

    jonh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah gotcha now. Thanks. I'll give it a go.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice