WHM Transfer Tool - overwrite option - does it rsync?

Valetia

Well-Known Member
Jun 20, 2002
216
10
168
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
When using the "Overwrite" option in WHM Transfer Tool for an account that has the same username, does it rsync the data in the home directory, or does it perform a full deletion and rewrite from scratch?
 

NOC_Serverpoint

Well-Known Member
Jul 3, 2016
103
7
18
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hi,

The "Overwrite" option rsync the modified files. But if you do a transfer, and it transfers 100 files, which is for example 100MB, and then 1 of those files changes on the source and you do another transfer, it only copies over that 1 file, which is for exampe 1MB.

However, before it transfers that 1MB file, it checks the destination to make sure it has at least 100MB free, If the destination has 99MB available, it will not copy that 1MB file because "insufficient disk space".

Thanks
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,904
2,220
463
Hello,

The use of the "overwrite" option won't terminate the existing account on the destination server, but matching files are replaced with the data from the account on the source server.

Thank you.
 

Jcats

Well-Known Member
PartnerNOC
May 25, 2011
807
158
168
New Jersey
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
Sorry to bring up an old thread but just to clarify using the overwrite option will migrate the entire account over again regardless if the data on the destination server hasn't changed? Meaning even though cPanel transfer uses rsync, it will still transfer ALL data, not just what changed?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,904
2,220
463
Sorry to bring up an old thread but just to clarify using the overwrite option will migrate the entire account over again regardless if the data on the destination server hasn't changed? Meaning even though cPanel transfer uses rsync, it will still transfer ALL data, not just what changed?
Yes, it will transfer all of the data again. For instance, let's say you have the following file on the source server:

Code:
/home/username1/public_html/123.php
If you transfer this account to a destination server where "username1" already exists, and select "Overwrite" in "WHM >> Transfer Tool" as part of the account selection page, then "123.php" is overwritten with the contents of that file on the source server. This occurs even if the copy of "123.php" is newer on the destination server.

Thank you.
 

Jcats

Well-Known Member
PartnerNOC
May 25, 2011
807
158
168
New Jersey
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
So, if you overwrite an account and exclude the home directory it just leaves the home directory on the destination server as is which means I can easily just rsync the home directory, not sure why I never tried that in the past... doh!
 
  • Like
Reactions: cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,904
2,220
463
Sorry for the necro again, but what about the deleted files?

Will the Overwrite option delete the files that doesn't exist anymore in the source?
No, it won't remove files new files that have been created on the destination server, but don't exist on the source server.

Thank you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: alekstrust