The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Username Character limit of 8?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bctrainers, Oct 20, 2008.

  1. bctrainers

    bctrainers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Either I searched for terms that weren't quite relevant to this issue or it hasn't been brought up in how i've worded it.

    Why is there a limit on the user name field for accounts set to 8?
    Can this be changed to a higher limit?
    If so, would it cause any internal issues with WHM?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. bctrainers

    bctrainers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have CentOS without cPanel near same kernel version as this current cPanel kernel and i can do more then 8 characters in the user name. Only difference is the minor version of these two kernel's. Which makes me wonder what is the limiter issue on cpanel settings.

    With cPanel: Linux breakpoint.<hidden>.com 2.6.18-92.1.6.el5 #1 SMP Wed Jun 25 13:49:24 EDT 2008 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    Without cPanel: Linux loop.<hidden>.com 2.6.18-92.1.13.el5 #1 SMP Wed Sep 24 19:33:52 EDT 2008 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux

    Any ideas? :)
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The limitation has to do with 3rd party software. Even when we reach a point where we can allow more than 8 characters, there would still be a limit of 16 characters, for the same reason: 3rd party software.
     
  5. bctrainers

    bctrainers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I see, thanks for the answer. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page