The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM VPS Optimized

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by canadiancow, Apr 24, 2009.

  1. canadiancow

    canadiancow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just installed cPanel/WHM on FreeBSD in VMWare ESXi, and WHM is showing "WHM VPS Optimized" instead of "WHM Accelerated" as it was on another server.

    Is this correct behaviour for a VMWare install?

    Thanks
     
  2. canadiancow

    canadiancow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Actually I just noticed an issue. I don't have a "Disk Drives" section in WHM, so I had to SSH in to format a new "drive" I added to the VM.
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is correct. When you install cPanel/WHM onto a virtual environment, it will use VPS optimization.
     
  4. jhigham

    jhigham Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Modify VMware ESXi CPU Count & WHM

    David,

    I have a 2X 4 core setup running VMware ESXi with several VM's running. One VM is a CentOS 5.2 install with cPanel WebHost Manager running. It (CentOS) was created with 2 virtual CPU's.


    Question: Can I shutdown the VM and increase the CPU count to 4? What is the impact of switching (increasing or decreasing) virtual CPU's with CentOS/RHEL and WHM?


    Thanks
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't know about CentOS/RHEL, but that shouldn't have any negative impact on cPanel/WHM.
     
Loading...

Share This Page