The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM won't log me in and there isn't an error.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by LWNaven, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. LWNaven

    LWNaven Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    OK, the company I have my reseller account with seems to be taking a long time to look into this and I was hoping I could get some idea of what actually is going on. I tried my username and password I was given and it doesn't log me in. It simply looks like its refreshing the page on login. I do get an error message when I enter the wrong username and password, though, so I know its not a bad login. I've also tried this on both IE and Firefox and cleared my cache and any relevant cookies as well. It most likely is server side, yet I seem to be the only one with the problem.

    Is there something that WHM usually is doing when this sort of thing happens? If so, I'd like to know so I can let the admins know so they can look into it more quickly. Thanks for the help! =)
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Whats the URL you're using? We don't need to know the IP or domain name though so you can edit that for privacy.
     
  3. LWNaven

    LWNaven Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    mydomain.com:2086
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Try server.name.com:2087 does that work for you?
     
  5. LWNaven

    LWNaven Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    It just says it timed out. I don't think its listening on that port.
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There could be a firewall blocking access to the cPanel and WHM ports, anywhere from your local computer, the router your local computer is plugged into, your ISP, all the way to the server itself and the network that hosts the server.

    Many hosts have proxy subdomains enabled, which allow access over port 80. Have you tried whm.domain.tld or cpanel.domain.tld?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might do best to try contacting your Hosting Provider again on this. Do they have the proper ports opened in the firewall? We don't know that here, but they should be open by default. Your provider can check his server logs for clues I'm sure. If you're blocked by the firewall, only they can get you back in as well.
     
  8. LWNaven

    LWNaven Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    If I was blocked by a firewall, I wouldn't see the login page. I see it and I can post the login, but it doesn't log me in. I can post an invalid login and it says my login is invalid.
     
  9. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First try to access cPanel with your details and then WHm. If you are able to access cPanel and not WHM without any error then I suspect you may not have reseller privileges to your account.
     
Loading...

Share This Page