The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whm

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Matt D., Feb 1, 2004.

  1. Matt D.

    Matt D. Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM Accounts

    Hi all, got a few questions...

    The only way I can see giving a client WHM access it to create a cPanel account in the root account and then give that clients account WHM permissions, is that correct?

    Since doing that, is the root account suppose to see everything, such as other accounts and other plans that other WHM accounts have made? (I guess being a root account it should, but not sure).

    Is it possible to add reseller accounts without having to give reseller privileges to a cPanel account that has been added in the root account?

    Hope that all made sense.

    Thanks in advance.

    Matt D.
     
    #1 Matt D., Feb 1, 2004
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2004
  2. Matt D.

    Matt D. Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone?!?
     
  3. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    If you give someone reseller privileges, (make someone a reseller), it does not give them root access or features. After making them a reseller, just go to the reseller center and you have full control over what they can and can't do.
     
  4. Matt D.

    Matt D. Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes I understand that part.

    What I'm asking is can I give someone just reseller privileges without have to make an cPanel account in root and then give them reseller privileges.
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You would need to create a user first and to create a user in WHM means to create an account that automatically includes cpanel.

    I imagine if you create a user manually you could then make that user a reseller.

    If all you want is to create a reseller without a valid domain, just dolike many do. Create a user with any invalid domain. It doesn't matter if the domain is real or is yours.

    Of course, either option would require the reseller to log in to WHM by IP since they won't have a real domain to log in with.
     
  6. Matt D.

    Matt D. Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Mike :)

    I see now how it works.
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    No problem. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page