The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM's news tells to me upgrade!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ozzi4648, Mar 7, 2003.

  1. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    Laugh, this is a joke isn't it?

    Module Latest Version Installed Version
    Apache Core 1.3.27 1.3.27 OK
    Chili!Soft-ASP 3.6.2
    mod_log_bytes 1.0
    mod_bwlimited 1.0
    PHP 4.3.1 4.2.3 OK
    FrontPage 5.0.2.2510
    mod_ssl 2.8.12 2.8.11 Insecure
    OpenSSL 0.9.6b


    You are running an insecure apache setup. You should run /scripts/easyapache and upgrade to a newer version as soon as possible to avoid your system being compromised.

    With all the problem with the new builds i hardly think its necessary to upgrade. I'm not about to mess up my installation just because of a WHM new announcement. Please let me decide what needs updating!!!! When you can give us stable releases Ill think about it!
     
  2. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ozzie,
    Received this from an NOC where I have several servers:
    ------
    Sorry for any scares, I need for all of you that are running cPanel and/or apache to pay SPECIAL ATTENTION to this e-mail. We sent out over 2-3 weeks ago, e-mails stating that you needed to update cPanel, and apache, to avoid any problems with your server/service, please note the following:



    Anyone running cpanel 5.3.0 R117 needs to run /scripts/upcp as root.

    Anyone running apache with mod_ssl 2.8.11 need to run /scripts/easyapache

    and choose option 1 trough 4



    Clients are being hacked, and it is causing downtime / lost sites, etc. This is our final warning!



    Anyone who gets hacked after this email will be charged $150 an hour to fix the estimated time is 2-3 hours. If you need assistance with your update, Please e-mail ********* Provide your IP & root password to the machine. ********* does not proactively monitor your server, however, many of you are running cPanel, and many of you have chosen to not update your versions, and as such, are being hacked. Please do not disregard this e-mail, it is vital to your server’s security.



    Thank you,
     
  3. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Has anyone tried running the update? Any comments?

    Ed
     
  4. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    Thats very interesting because the news came through sometim this morning throught WHM. Are they referring to the guestbook vuln? They talk about v5.3 in your email, not 6. Or are they referring to mod_ssl? If its mod_ssl which has WHM news waited this long to tell us?
     
  5. JohnH

    JohnH Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    got the same thing...

    mod_ssl 2.8.12 2.8.11 Insecure

    So how would I go about upgrading the mod_ssl ?

    thanks
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I just ran the /scripts/easyapache a few hours ago and don't seem to have any problems. I chose option 1 and let it do everything itself.

    It took between 5 and 10 minutes to do and was printing out data too fast to read.
     
    #6 PWSowner, Mar 7, 2003
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2003
  7. Johnnie Nelke

    Johnnie Nelke Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    I ran it on all 4 servers...... really easy. Choose option 4 and get mcrypt and GD support. Took about 5 minutes. SUPER EASY.
     
  8. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just want to say, I took your advise, ran option 4, and all went well. Took only a few minutes and now everything says OK.

    Ed
     
  9. mpkapadia

    mpkapadia Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello

    I ran /scrips/easyapache on my server

    Selected option 1

    It ran for about 10 minutes and then it said httpd started

    But this has conked off my php files running on the server

    This is what it shows me

    Fatal error: Cannot redeclare unixdate()

    See the URL below, Was working perfectly ok before the upgrade.

    http://linuxdemos.people-connect.com/postnuke/html/index.php

    Please help me guys how to resolve this now.

    Regards

    Manish
     
  10. mpkapadia

    mpkapadia Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Issue Resolved.

    My programmer said it is a php 4.3x issue , minor change in code and it works again

    Regards,

    Manish
     
  11. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    Well if you resolved it and asked the quesiton origionally then wouldnt it be lovely to post your solution? It makes sense just incase somebody else has the same problem they may not know what to do.
     
  12. odoisc

    odoisc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If I would run this upgrade, I would move from php 4.2.3 to 4.3.1 . I dont think I ever upgraded this the past 6 months since I started with my server.

    Can anyone tell me if this would result in any php code problems ? I never really cared about making my code compatible with everything , as long as it worked it was fine for me... But if I have to rework the code because of the upgrade I'd rather know about it before the upgrade.

    Thnx
     
  13. NeutralGold

    NeutralGold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    From the looks of it, That is "Above" the news, I beleive that was a new feature added this morning to give you the update status on your server. I dont think thats actually part of the worded news..I'm pretty sure that'll be there from now on
     
  14. wimp

    wimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    would be happy to upgrade BUT since this can cause problems(all things are working fine and customers are happy) and i dont' like to have problems - and my clients as well -.
    So if this is secure and don't create problems i will do it.

    Can anyone tell me with option to choose when running /scripts/easyapache 1,2,3,4, ?? (I have suexec disable)

    Is there a way to have support from CPanel if somewiht is wrong and server goes down?

    Thanks
     
    #14 wimp, Mar 8, 2003
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2003
  15. MikeHihn

    MikeHihn Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My own upgrade went fine -- until I ran ModernBill.

    Now I get all sorts of errors, plus an apparent need to re-install Zend.


    :(
     
  16. 360 Web Hosting

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm running it now on option 4...I'll let you know how it turns out. Does anyone know if I'll have to recompile php with cURL and Zend after running this?
     
  17. 360 Web Hosting

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Everything went fine here, no problems with Zend either. I did option 4
     
  18. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    Well if you ran the update i hope you chose to keep php 4.2.3. Your Zend is probably messed up.
     
  19. semaj

    semaj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ran /scripts/easyapache selected 4 , All went fine on 2 servers, but now several domains are having files not found on server 1.
    Server 2 works great

    http://urlf.com/php This isn't even a php file, just a directory called php
    http://excelwebhosting.com/forum


    Nothing php is working now....I am attemting to run it again


    What do I do now.


    >Subject: Cron <xxxxxx@root> php /home/xxxxxx/public_html/css/m_c.php > /dev/null
    > Zend Optimizer requires Zend Engine API version 20020429.
    > The Zend Engine API version 20021010 which is installed, is newer.
    > Contact Zend Technologies at http://www.zend.com/ for a later version of Zend
    > Optimizer.
     
    #19 semaj, Mar 8, 2003
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2003
  20. MikeHihn

    MikeHihn Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    NOW you tell me. :)

    I don't recall seeing the option. I'm REALLY new at this, and installed option 1 (beginner).

    Any suggestions?
     
Loading...

Share This Page