The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whois for Subdomain

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by kazamraza, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. kazamraza

    kazamraza Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I am Kazam Raza from Pakistan.
    I have a main domain paks.pk and one of its subdomain is for example kazamraza.paks.pk . Is it possible that users can search that who own this subdomain, just like whois for domains which shows all necessary information about the owner of domain. Currently I have maintained separated database for subdomains pk.paks.pk where all subdomain information is stored. I want a PHP script that connect to WHM/cPanel so that user can check whois for subdomain and I want to install that script in subdomain whois.paks.pk
     
    #1 kazamraza, Aug 28, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2009
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Generally, WHOIS is same for the subdomain as main domain.
     
  3. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is NO WHOIS for sub-domains. WHOIS is available for registered domains only.

    If you are selling sub-domains and wants to display owner of that sub-domains then you will need to custom script and then you can list them on YOUR web site. You can not put those details on WHOIS servers.

    Kailash
     
  4. kazamraza

    kazamraza Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your reply. You are saying right that whois is for registered domains only. I am looking for a script that connect to my server and retrive whois information for subdomain, otherwise I have to maintain separate database for this purpose. I want to setup a website Pak domain name whois query service only for subdomains. Currently I have maintained separate database for whois for subdomain i,e, Free Domain Names - Pakistan first hosting company that provide lifetime free pk domain names Pk Hosting Student Hosting

    Kazam Raza
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only valid WHOIS registrations are for licensed domains only.

    However, if you own the primary domain, you could setup your own WHOIS server that could be queried for subdomains that you register under you.
    Code:
    whois -h whois.yourdomain.com subdomain.yourdomain.com
    
    It is not difficult to setup a whois server if you want to maintain one yourself.
     

Share This Page