The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who's pulling all this traffic?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bravo, Jul 17, 2008.

  1. Bravo

    Bravo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The MRTG graphs for my server are showing 4mbps incoming traffic and I'm scratching my head trying to figure out which user is pulling it and how.

    I have determined that it's http related, when I shut down apache incoming traffic almost disappears. Unfortunately cpanel does not log incoming traffic, any ideas how to figure out which user is using it??
     
  2. mattmattt

    mattmattt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    in the cpanel admin interface for "root". server status - apache status
    could be very helpful. Back in the day i often used it to determine what
    was going on and still use it once in a while.
     
  3. Bravo

    Bravo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can't tell from apache status, it's like someone is starting a process like a spider or similar. I have disabled wget but still continues.
     
  4. xbart

    xbart Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same problem too. :confused:
    In my server, there's certaintly noone can use wget/lynx/etc, because I disabled them all.

    There's a similar thread, http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=77394 which doesn't provide any clear clue or solution.

    Could someone please post any hints or advice?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Do you have CSF installed? Might be very helpful for this. It'll track connections and blocks if you choose.
     
  6. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    It rather difficult to say the cause of high cpu load without looking into a server. There are many possible causes for high server load. Read this article for more info: http://servertune.com/kbase/entry/67/
     

Share This Page