The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why are there two different backup entries in crontab?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by electric, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    The crontab for all our servers have two different backup entries:


    Code:
    15 0 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup
    0 2 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup
    Are both of these necessary? If not, which one is the correct entry?

    (We are using the "new" backup system and have disabled the legacy system.)

    Thanks.
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The 1st one ("cpbackup") is for the legacy backup, and if legacy backup is disabled it does nothing.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, it's normal to see both entries. The "/scripts/cpbackup" entry is for legacy backups and the "/usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup" entry is for the new backup system. Note that the existence of the cron job does not mean backups are enabled. The scripts make that determination each time they run.

    Thank you.
     
  4. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Are you sure this is not reversed? As a test, I removed both backup entries from the crontab. Then I went into WHM and clicked the "Configure cPanel Cron Jobs" link and set the backup cron job to run at 00:15. Now I only have one cron job listed in crontab:

    In WHM, I have disabled legacy backups, and have enabled the new backup system.

    So it seems something is not right somewhere? Let me know what you think...
     
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's because "Configure cPanel Cron Jobs" does not support the new backup system (yet).
     
  6. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ah, I forgot.. this is cpanel... I should have expected that. :rolleyes:

    If anyone from cpanel is reading this, you might possibly want to maybe perhaps consider adding a note in the WHM modify cron page that explains this backup cron is ONLY for the old legacy backup system.

    :)
     
  7. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  8. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Seriously? You work for cpanel, right? Well, if you think this is something that would benefit *your* customers, then go for it. My posting into the features request is just going to get buried under the 300 other requests. People aren't going to use their votes to raise this one to the top, so it won't be implemented due to massive user demand, that's for sure. The only way this has a chance to get put into prod is if someone working at cpanel says, "Ya.. that makes sense. Duh."
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    A feature request is actually not necessary in this case because the cron job for the new backup system is going to be added to the "Cron Config" plugin in cPanel version 11.42 per internal case 85381.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page