Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Why are there two different backup entries in crontab?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by electric, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Hello,

    The crontab for all our servers have two different backup entries:


    Code:
    15 0 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup
    0 2 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup
    Are both of these necessary? If not, which one is the correct entry?

    (We are using the "new" backup system and have disabled the legacy system.)

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The 1st one ("cpbackup") is for the legacy backup, and if legacy backup is disabled it does nothing.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,961
    Likes Received:
    1,821
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, it's normal to see both entries. The "/scripts/cpbackup" entry is for legacy backups and the "/usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup" entry is for the new backup system. Note that the existence of the cron job does not mean backups are enabled. The scripts make that determination each time they run.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Are you sure this is not reversed? As a test, I removed both backup entries from the crontab. Then I went into WHM and clicked the "Configure cPanel Cron Jobs" link and set the backup cron job to run at 00:15. Now I only have one cron job listed in crontab:

    In WHM, I have disabled legacy backups, and have enabled the new backup system.

    So it seems something is not right somewhere? Let me know what you think...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's because "Configure cPanel Cron Jobs" does not support the new backup system (yet).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Ah, I forgot.. this is cpanel... I should have expected that. :rolleyes:

    If anyone from cpanel is reading this, you might possibly want to maybe perhaps consider adding a note in the WHM modify cron page that explains this backup cron is ONLY for the old legacy backup system.

    :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    93
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Seriously? You work for cpanel, right? Well, if you think this is something that would benefit *your* customers, then go for it. My posting into the features request is just going to get buried under the 300 other requests. People aren't going to use their votes to raise this one to the top, so it won't be implemented due to massive user demand, that's for sure. The only way this has a chance to get put into prod is if someone working at cpanel says, "Ya.. that makes sense. Duh."
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,961
    Likes Received:
    1,821
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    A feature request is actually not necessary in this case because the cron job for the new backup system is going to be added to the "Cron Config" plugin in cPanel version 11.42 per internal case 85381.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice