The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why are updates taking so long starting with 11.42?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by MaraBlue, Jul 1, 2014.

  1. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I realize this is the EasyApache forum, but this is partly EA and partly cP. Starting with 11.42 and now also with 11.44, updates take FOREVER. I've never (going back to 2004) had a cP update take 45 minutes. And now PHP just going from 5.429->5.4.30 is 20 minutes and counting.

    #NotAHappyCamper
     
  2. ScottTh

    ScottTh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey MaraBlue,

    I'm sorry to hear that your builds are moving slower than usual. Can you provide us with some additional EasyApache details? Is the build process slowing down when EasyApache is updating and downloading the necessary files or is it the build itself?

    Thank you!
     
  3. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The build itself.

    If I had the time available I'd go through the logs and the put in a support ticket. But especially this week, ain't nobody got time for dat...
     
  4. Mark_CFH

    Mark_CFH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Im trying to update WHM as I type this... its been about 20 mins so far, and its still sitting at 2% it seems like its stuck in the area of exim (the mail?).. With a lot of "/bin/chown: changing ownership of `/var/spool/exim/input/5/1XFFg5-003CEs-9E-H': No such file or directory"


    This is updating 11.42 ---> 11.44
     
  5. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In my case, or at least in a couple of recent updating through EA experiences, what was happening was the update would mostly complete, the system would restart, but the update screen output would stop. So it appeared to hang, when in fact it had completed.

    There's a warning/notice that says this could happen (above the screen, I believe), which is what tipped me off to check for this at all, though it had never happened before so I wasn't expecting it. I've never had to "click to refresh the output screen" before, this is new behavior.

    Mark_CFH, I don't know if that helps or not, but it might be something to try.
     
  6. Mark_CFH

    Mark_CFH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't have a "click to refresh output screen" its at (this time currently sitting on) 95%. But it seems to have went back to the exim again and that's where its stuck on 95%.

    updating_whm.png


    Just as I sent that, it continued... but when to 35%... and is now sitting at 81% with "[Starting newemail]"


    So now its just confusing me.
     
    #6 Mark_CFH, Aug 10, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2014
  7. Mark_CFH

    Mark_CFH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After about 2 1/2 hours it finally updated... Wow..
     
  8. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've never seen that warning/notice that there's another upcp process running, that is bizarre. Incidentally, that's where the "click to refresh the screen" button usually is. Looks like the "there's another upcp process running" notice replaced it.

    Glad it's finally completed for you.
     
  9. Mark_CFH

    Mark_CFH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oh, that message there was my fault, I was running the update and accidentally clicked on the version at the top of WHM, and it loaded the update page again to run it again, thats what that message was from.. i was doing so much clicking and switching between tabs... =\
     
Loading...

Share This Page