The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why do I need space for all backups locally if destination is S3?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by equens, Jun 18, 2016.

  1. equens

    equens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Hello, I don't have enought space to backup locally all cpanel accounts, so I decided to backup to S3.

    This is an SSD server and does not have enough space to backup all accounts before being transferred to S3.

    Why does not transfer and delete every account individually before backup the next account?

    Regards,
    Equens.
     
    #1 equens, Jun 18, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2016
  2. Ameya Barwe

    Ameya Barwe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Nashik
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    It looks like "Retain backups in the default backup directory." options is enabled for your server's backup configuration, try to disable it and see how it goes. :)
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,294
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Spork Schivago likes this.
  4. equens

    equens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Hello Ameya "Retain backups in the default backup directory" are disabled.

    Hello cPanelMichael, our backup fails because the server does not have enough space to finish while remote transmission is occurring.

    Your backup system should stop until the Cleanup procedure guarantees space to continue with de local backup procedure.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,294
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Internal case CPANEL-4455 is open to address the issue where backup generations can result in the local server reaching 100% capacity. There's currently no time frame on a resolution, however I will update this thread with more information as it becomes available.

    Thank you.
     
    equens likes this.
  6. Brent Dacus

    Brent Dacus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Smyrna, TN
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You know there is a 5 gig S3 limit as well. And don't forget to set the configure if you want to send system files..
     
  7. equens

    equens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Thanks a lot.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,294
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    To update, a resolution associated with CPANEL-4455 is planned for inclusion with cPanel version 64. The change will add an option in "WHM >> Backup Configuration" that ensures the system will check either a number of MB, or a percentage of the local backup space, before backups start generating.

    Thank you.
     
  9. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Equens,

    This probably isn't the solution you're looking for, but as a workaround, could you perhaps just write a small bash script that does essentially what cPanel does for the backups, but backup one user account, transfer it to the S3 account, delete the local backup, backup the 2nd, transfer it to the S3 account, delete the local backup, etc. and then perhaps create a small crontab entry so it runs every day or however often you'd like it to run, at least until that Feature Request cPanelMichael linked you to goes through?

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page