The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why does cpanel change the "Realm" every new major version?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hostultra, Jul 1, 2003.

  1. hostultra

    hostultra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You know when the customer logs in he gets a screen to enter password which says

    Cpanel 6.0
    Username:
    Password:


    well on cpanel 7 it says
    Cpanel 7.0
    Username:
    Password:

    Why dont you just make it say "Cpanel" instead of the version.

    Because if you check the box "Remember my password" and the realm name changes, (ie. from 6.0 to 7.0) internet explorer clears the rememberd password.

    Every time there is a new cpanel version i get many lost password requests, because the customers have to enter their password again for the new version and most just ticked the box to remember their password.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,429
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Generally it was to make people aware what version its running when they are connecting, but thats on the front page of almost every theme now. Thus its a bit redundent and its going to change to just "cPanel" before the 7 RELEASE build as per your request.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. carlgm

    carlgm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England, UK
    Could you also change the WHM realm too? :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What was the name of the file where you could "tweak" the realm name?
     
  5. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    agreed, it would be great if you could just leave the realm for both client and whm (if thats what its called) "alone" so that even if the system is updated, we dont loose our login prompts, because when you have 7+ servers to login to, each with a unique password, its gets quite annoying day in / day out to reenter the details :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. norm

    norm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nick,

    Excellent job changing the realm for http://domain.com/whm to something generic ... the general public has no need to know what version of Cpanel I run ;)

    Thanks again

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page