The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why does upgrading P

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by avara, Jul 4, 2002.

  1. avara

    avara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Every time I install CPanel on a new server, &updating perl& seems to take ages, and sometimes stalls completely. Why is this? Everything else is much faster...
     
  2. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    upgrading perl is the longest process. mine never freeze's, just let it sit....

    make sure you run screen before the install just incase somthing happens.
     
  3. avara

    avara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the tip. What's odd here is that sometimes it runs for over an hour before completing, so I abort the install and try again. After doing this twice today, it completed in just a couple of minutes.

    These are all high quality IBM servers with RedHat 7.3. It seemed much faster on 7.1.
     
  4. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    well i'm not possitive on this one but it may be downloading packages when upgrading perl. Depending on your speed and the speed of cpanel.net it may talk longer. I notice that on a 1ghz server with 128ram that it takes anywhere from a hour to a hour and a half to complete a cpanel install.
     
  5. avara

    avara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well the servers I'm installing it on are either 1.13Ghz P3 machines, or 1.6Ghz P4 machines, both with at least 512 megs of RAM.

    You're probably right about the downloading though, because the entire cpanel.net seems slow today.
     
  6. avara

    avara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hmm do I need to be concerned about the following, or is it normal?

    &Installing OS Specific RPM errata....Unable to retrieve file&
     
Loading...

Share This Page