The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why is cpanel over writing my default apache page?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by DWHS.net, Feb 2, 2004.

  1. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is really screwed up, that page has important spam and disclosure information and now is covered up by cpanel's promotion!!!!!

    This is not right who agreed to this?

    I have to modify the page on all my servers to only have to over written again.

    Please please cpanel re-think this.

    It's wrong on so many levels.
     
  2. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, same here. I just noticed it!
     
  3. Dreamer

    Dreamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    edit /usr/local/apache/htdocs/index.html

    Then do 'chattr +i index.html' and cPanel won't touch it anymore (it will _only_ attempt to :P).
     
  4. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This makes the page so it can't be modified?

    Great I didn't even think of a option like this, I was just mad and needed to vent. :D

    Thanks this is perfect.

    -Charles
     
  5. Dreamer

    Dreamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Yes :) However I do something different. I have my customized index.html as index-https.html and after every cPanel update I am just doing:

    cp /usr/local/apache/htdocs/index-https.html /usr/local/apache/htdocs/index.html

    (yes when asked to overwrite)

    But this takes time :)
     
  6. pagedeveloping

    pagedeveloping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York

    Go ahead and Vent! I feel for ya...

    If there was an index page already up, than there is no need for cpanel to over right it.

    I don't even care if it was the apache default page.

    I have important instructions on this default page for my resellers to follow if they should ever encounter a problem and ended up there.

    My last default page was chattr +i and still cpanel had overwritten the page.

    so, now that I had did my little vent as well, It is time to go back and re-upload the default page once again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page