The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why no support for HTTP 2.0?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Reado, Jul 15, 2016.

  1. Reado

    Reado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    So far the only solution I have found that provides HTTP 2.0 support and sits within a cPanel environment is Lite Speed but there's an additional cost and I'm already paying for cPanel.

    Please could you explain to me the reasons behind not supporting HTTP 2.0? Thanks.
     
    NovemberRain likes this.
  2. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    HTTP2.0 requires an updated OpenSSL version that's not even provided upstream by CentOS yet. We'd have to statically compile things around, and that's not something we've done yet in EA4.

    There's ways to get it done via EA3, and there's forum posts about it already.
     
  3. Reado

    Reado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    By yet, does that mean you plan to do so? If so, do you have any idea when that may be?

    I managed to get HTTP/2 support added to EA3 and it works amazingly - so much faster. It would be nice to see this added to EA4, especially for use alongside PHP 7.
     
  4. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    We have plans to do it, but we have no time frames on getting this done yet.
     
    eva2000 likes this.
  5. Reado

    Reado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That's fine, I look forward to that support being added. Thank you.
     
  6. Otnihs

    Otnihs Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have tried to impliment http2 with ea3 but couldn't. Would you mind to share, how did you implimented it in EA3 ? It would be helpful.
     
  7. Reado

    Reado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This is the tutorial I followed:

    vpsineu.com/blog/how-to-setup-http2-in-cpanelwhm-linux-vps-using-easyapache3/

    You also need to make sure your website is always SSL enabled, otherwise it won't work.
     
    #7 Reado, Sep 29, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 8, 2016
  8. NovemberRain

    NovemberRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    İstanbul
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am always amazed at how cpanel acts like these kind of things are the unimportant, minor features whereas they spend most of their resources with relatively unimportant features or terrible design ideas and act like they have made a revolution.

    http2 should be your number one priority. You should stop whatever you are doing now and work on this. No excuses!
     
  9. brt

    brt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    MN
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This can't come soon enough!
     
  10. RWH Tech

    RWH Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not supported by Cpanel, but I've been using this for a while. I keep OpenSSL/nghttp2 up to date, too.
    HTTP/2 and WHM 58 with EA4
     
    eva2000 and WEBDOMAIN.com like this.
  11. WEBDOMAIN.com

    WEBDOMAIN.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I also wonder why cPanel didn't make http2 standard into EA4. I've seen it was a problem with OpenSSL but I don't see the point blocking the discussion and ignore any further opinions there...Otherwise, what is the purpose of the features request panel?
    I totally agree with @NovemberRain. Sometimes cPanel focuses on cosmetic details and totally ignore very important features.
    I also would like to see http2 being implemented into cPanel as a Standard. Please, make this possible.
     
    Erel likes this.
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,738
    Likes Received:
    661
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  13. cPanelBenny

    cPanelBenny Community Manager, Development, dog scratcher
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Michigan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hey there! In this case comments were locked for a couple reasons, but mostly because the feedback we were getting wasn't actionable feedback. I've opened up comments on the feature again, but definitely make sure to review the guidelines before commenting. My goal with the comments there is not so much discussion as it is making sure we understand all of the perspectives of our clients needs on the request.
     
  14. Rvanlaak

    Rvanlaak Registered

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is there a timeframe when CentOS will move to OpenSSL 1.0.2? And based on that event, how long would it take for cPanel to release HTTP/2 with EA4?

    Basically the module itself states that you only need Apache 2.4.23, which our EA4 installation actually already makes use of: github.com/icing/mod_h2
     
    #14 Rvanlaak, Oct 25, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 25, 2016
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,738
    Likes Received:
    661
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There's no specific time frame to offer at this time. Feel free to subscribe to EasyApache 4 HTTP2 Support to ensure you are updated, as we will change the status of the feature request once work begins or a decision has been made.

    Thank you.
     
  16. DomineauX

    DomineauX Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Comments are closed (again or still).

    I'm sorry if it is considered to not be "actionable feedback", but the truth is that the web stack makes up the core point of a web hosting control panel, and cPanel has been letting us down for years by not maintaining a modern web stack. We frequently have to move clients to bare CentOS to accomplish what they need for a high performance web stack, including Nginx, PHP-FPM, HTTP2, and PCI compliant SSL/TLS.

    If outdated OpenSSL versions from "enterprise" linux versions are holding so much progress back, it must be time for cPanel to provide a modern version as part of the web stack when the OS doesn't provide it. We are already using a custom installation of OpenSSL 1.0.1 on many servers specifically for Apache/PHP, so doing so within EA4 automatically should not be such an impossible task.
     
  17. cPanelBenny

    cPanelBenny Community Manager, Development, dog scratcher
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Michigan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Feedback is always welcome, and I sincerely appreciate your willingness to add it here! We completely agree that the lack of update from the OS providers is frustrating. Even CentOS 7 doesn't have HTTP/2 support right now, which is incredibly limiting. You're right that building an RPM with updated OpenSSL and distributing it is pretty straight forward. The hold-up is making sure that we're ready and able to take on the responsibility of keeping it patched and released in a timely basis.

    We're definitely still discussing internally how best to handle this, and as soon as there's anything more to share I will.
     
  18. DomineauX

    DomineauX Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Glad to hear it.
    Until cPanel feels comfortable maintaining a modern version of OpenSSL as part of the web stack, it would be great if we can use a source installation (like /opt/openssl) that EA4 can utilize.
     
    cPanelBenny likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page