The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why Rebuilding Apache Conf when retore backups?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by konrath, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. konrath

    konrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brasil
    Hello

    Rebuilding Apache Conf when retore backups? Why? :eek:

    This makes restoration very slow!

    This is new and started in version 11:25


    Thank you
    Konrath

    ------------------------

    Rebuilding Apache Conf


    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
     
  2. konrath

    konrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brasil
    24838 root 15 0 66664 60m 1764 S 66.2 1.5 0:04.19 build_apache_co


    why ????? :confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  3. konrath

    konrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brasil
    any sugestion ????????????????

    why a simple restore rebuild apache conf ????
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure I understand the issue, but it makes perfect sense to rebuild the conf if it's readding/restoring a Full Backup to the server, to be sure it's added to the server (and the conf) properly. IMHO.

    If you think there may be a problem with your cPanel, put in a ticket and let them take a closer look.
     
  5. garrettp

    garrettp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The idea here I would imagine is to restore the cPanel account to exactly how it was at the time of the backup snapshot. The snapshot may contain more or less sub/parked/addon domains for instance, and if so, a conf rebuild is necessary to restore those Vhost entries.
     
  6. konrath

    konrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brasil
    But rebuilding all httpd.conf? Just because recovered 1 backup? This makes no sense and makes very slow restoration of 1 backup!

    This problem started in 11.25 version

    Iam wating anothers sugestion !

    Thank you
    Konrath
     
  7. konrath

    konrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brasil
    ?????????????????????
     
  8. konrath

    konrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brasil
    Why ??????


    -------------


    Restoring Domains


    Restoring SubDomain...dimitre.xxxxxxxxx.com...The subdomain, dimitre.xxxxxx.com has been added.....Done
    Restoring Parked Domain...xxxxxxxx.com.br (xxxxxxxxx.com).......Done







    Rebuilding Apache Conf


    ...........
    info [build_apache_conf] User 'grupmega' data set has no 'main_domain' key.
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    info [build_apache_conf] User 'ebersol' data set has no 'main_domain' key.
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    info [build_apache_conf] User 'lokodosl' data set has no 'main_domain' key.
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    info [build_apache_conf] Creating missing document root /home/rradiojov/public_html for radiojov
    ...........
    info [build_apache_conf] Creating missing document root /home/impoten/public_html for impotenc
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........



    and etc.....

    Why ?
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:


    This thread has been answered already, several times. as suggested previously, if you suspect a problem with your cPanel server put in a ticket with cPanel and have them take a look.
     
  10. kctt

    kctt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I agree with konrath.

    The answer is non-sense.

    It's non-sense to rebuild the whole apache config file when restoring one account.

    It's a pain in the *** when there are more than 1000 domains on the server.

    Restore an account? wait 20 minutes to rebuild config file when there's no reason to rebuild.

    Adding vhost entries of the restore account is not called rebuild. It's called adding domains, adding subdomains ...
    Rebuild here is rebuild every single host in config file.
     
  11. garrettp

    garrettp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you've got beef with cPanel, take it up with them via a ticket or bug submission; don't shoot the messenger.
     
Loading...

Share This Page