Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Why so many records for a nameserver?

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by sexy_guy, May 15, 2003.

  1. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I thought that a nameserver consisted of 3 records

    ns1.nameserver.com should contain

    ns1.nameserver.com (NS) ns1.nameserver.com
    ns2.nameserver.com (NS) ns2.nameserver.com
    ns1.nameserver.com (A) 111.111.11.111

    Thats it!

    Why does Cpanel also create

    A locahost record
    A MX record
    A mail record
    A www record
    A ftp record

    Seems like all these other records should be deleted but doing so in the WHM interface tells me there is an error. :confused:

    Can somebody clear this up please.
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You can remove these ones;

    A MX record
    A mail record
    A www record
    A ftp record

    You cannot remove this one:

    A localhost record

    You need a localhost record for a zone file. Also the reason that they are all there is cpanel uses a commom structure for all zone files. It does not distinguish between ns and non-ns zones.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Thank i will leave the localhost record see if get the error.
     
  4. beekeeper

    beekeeper Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I am new to this but you do mean

    ns1.nameserver.com (NS) ns1.nameserver.com
    ns1.nameserver.com (NS) ns2.nameserver.com
    ns1.nameserver.com (A) 111.111.11.111

    Don't you?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm wondering where these entries are even coming from. ;)

    To my knowledge, a NS should not point to a NS (a domain should, but not a NS) I have to wonder, other than the 'nameserverips' file, why these type entries are required???
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice