The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why would you make things stupider! The transfer tool is now pathetic

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DWHS.net, Oct 1, 2006.

  1. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Great in the middle of transferring sites you do a upgrade that like old school cpanel broke a tool that is very important. The TRANFER tool now does not work with the release build!

    Thanks allot, now I will have problems for days just like in beginning when you used to do this all the time, I really thought things have changed.

    Just let stuff, work. Forget about upgrading and make a stable product!

    How many people half to say this?

    Ridicules. :(
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I tend to agree with you...everytime we turn around something else is breaking or now broken.
     
  3. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry I got mad actually, I found the error, it's just a typo.

    The new transfer tool says: Do not compress transfers (cPanel 10.8.3+ required on both ends):

    this has to be clicked even though it says you need a version that you do not have with release.

    Thanks DG for not going hard on me. ;) And yes I remember when the transfer tool was broke for almost a month a couple years back. And like 20 new upgrades where made before it was fixed. Weird how they priorities but lately it's improved.

    Have a nice night.
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    :eek: A mod basically saying that cPanel always has bugs.

    I've been using cPanel for 5 years now and have found a few minor problems and 1 or 2 major ones, but considering the complexity of cPanel and the number of different platforms people want it to work on, that's not bad. I'd have to say that I'm running at least 95% of the time bug free. The occasional bug is well worth the ease of doing things that would otherwise have to be done in shell, and the time saved is well worth the occasional glitch.

    One thing keeps confusing me. People frequently complain about cPanel, yet they still use it. If I don't like something, I don't use it.
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    Just tried it will RELEASE->RELEASE, RELEASE->EDGE with and with the box checked with no issues. (Even did a 6 gig account)

    Could you be more specific about the problem ?

    PS. The new account xfer interface fixes at least 26 bugzilla ids (and probably a few more).
     
  6. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Please tell me it finally takes the free space in /tmp into consideration, and will not package the account if the approximate size will exceed the remaining free space on the /tmp partition. Please? :)
     
  7. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I just call'em as I see's em :D plus I never said bugs, I said broken....;)

    Why do people use it? Because no matter what at the end of the day it is one of the better ones out there.
     
  8. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    It doesn't use /tmp

    It uses the largest home partition.
     
  9. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually I see some major fixes like how we can transfer hundreds of domains without a dns error!!!, but the basic option to transfer says:

    Do not compress transfers (cPanel 10.8.3+ required on both ends):

    If you uncheck this then it will not work. I don't have 10.8.3 so I unchecked the box naturally. Once I figured out to leave it checked things went fine.

    I know little things get over looked for the grand scheme of things. But sometimes these issues can cause major havoc.

    And yes cpanel has bugs PWSowner.. but no more then any other cpanel. It's just how all control panels are at this time. I guess I look forward to 2010 when cpanel will be perfected. ;)

    Reduntant everything, and nothing breaks lol


    Also cpanel sorry for being so rude, I was just under the gun and got mad.

    You guys are the best!
     
  10. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    If you would be so kind to put a ticket in, I'd like to see this break in the real world since I can't get it to in my tests.

    Thanks
     
  11. dherb73

    dherb73 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So which will compress the transfers... when the box is checked or unchecked?
    What are the advantages and disadvantages of each choice?

    Thanks.
     
  12. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    When the box is checked (the checked state is the default), the archive will not be gzipped.

    When the box is unchecked, the archive will be gzipped.

    With the box checked you can expect the entire process to be a bit faster, since the CPU is not faced with the "intensive" task of compressing the archive. How fast depends upon various factors:
    1. Size of uncompressed archive
    2. Types of files in the archive
    3. Current server load
    4. Power of server
    5. Number of transfers
    The above is merely a representative sampling.

    In order for the non-compression to work, both the source and destination servers must be running cPanel 10.8.3 or newer (that is what "cPanel 10.8.3+ required on both ends" means).
     
  13. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was having problems when logging in to copy multiple accounts. I thought it was an SSH problem as I use a different port and it was timing out. I unchecked that box and voilla, works.

    Nice one ;)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - things stupider transfer
  1. Mattballew
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    319

Share This Page