Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

wildcard subdomain on another account

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by coopson, May 30, 2018.

  1. coopson

    coopson Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,

    Just looking for some advice, we have our main domain.com account and would like to park a wildcard so *.domain.com on another account.

    But because domain.com is already on the server, we can't addon to the new account does anyone have any ideas or a work around?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    HI @coopson

    What is the error you get when you try to add the wildcard subdomain?

    Also what is set currently for WHM>>Server Configuration>>Tweak Settings -> Allow cPanel users to create subdomains across accounts as well as Allow WHM users to create subdomains across accounts.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. coopson

    coopson Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply, both settings are set to enabled.

    If we try to add the new wildcard subdomain, the main domain.com is not listed in the select box, so we can't add. If I then try to park domain.com as a new addon first we get the error :

    (XID zccekp) The domain “domain.com” already exists in the Apache configuration.

    So I am not sure how to get domain.com in the domains list on the Sub Domains page?

    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @coopson

    Can you disable both those settings and let me know if that resolves the issue?


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. coopson

    coopson Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,

    I have disabled both options, but i still get the same errors as above. To add the wildcard subdomain do i need to add domain.com as an addon first to make it appear in the subdomains drop down list?

    Thanks for your help
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @coopson

    It sounds like you already have the domain on the server because of this error:

    Code:
    (XID zccekp) The domain “domain.com” already exists in the Apache configuration.
    
    And it looks like you won't be able to add the wildcard subdomain to another account - I tried adding one as an addon domain but it won't work with the wildcard. You can add a subdomain of any other account, just not using the *

    The wildcard subdomain itself would need to be added within the same account as the primary domain.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. coopson

    coopson Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ok thanks for your help, I will change the way our accounts are setup.

    Thanks
     
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @coopson

    You're welcome, Let us know if you have any further issues.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice