Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Wildcard subdomains in DNS?

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by electric, Sep 1, 2006.

  1. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Is it possible to create a "wildcard DNS" for all subdomains on one account, using the reseller WHM?

    If yes, what is the process?

    Basically, we want *.domain.com to point to the web root for the account.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Manuel_accu

    Manuel_accu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    indeed you need root access to edit the httpd.conf
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. RRRRyan

    RRRRyan Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    CPanel Back End Tweak - Anyone know how?

    Hi Guys,

    I'd like to edit the park domain routine to create a wildcard entry in the named.conf and instead of www.mydomain.com put a *.mydomain.com in the httpd.conf file. I'd really prefer to have it happen for all of my users when they park their domains rather than do it manually every time.

    Anyone know how to tweak this? I poked pretty deep in the backend files but it looks like these files are modified by some binary functions.

    Thanks.
     
  5. RRRRyan

    RRRRyan Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    c'mon somone has to know how

    c'mon, please help me guys... this costs me like an hour a week and it is really silly that I have to go and manually make such simple changes when I want my server to wildcard the parked domains by default. Please if you have any idea of a way to make CPANEL do this for me it would help me a ton.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice