The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wildcarded DNS

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by secretman, Aug 23, 2003.

  1. secretman

    secretman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    is possible activate wildcarded dns fot one or more domains on cpanel?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes, but you will have to do it by hand.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. secretman

    secretman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ??? how to make it ???

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    edit the dns zone file for the domain in question.

    vi /var/named/domain.com.db
    insert * 14400 IN A IP.IP.IP.IP
    alter the serial. save, close, restart named.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can do it in whm, just add and a entry for *

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. secretman

    secretman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    in whm or in cpanel?

    i enter a * in a subdomain section on domain cpanel?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just the domain

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. secretman

    secretman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have try to insert * in a subdomain for one my domain in cpanel but appear :

    SubDomain Adder
    could not be modified because it does not resolve to a valid ip address. Please ask the system admin to check their resolv.conf and their dns trust relationship Ignore any messages of success this can only result in failure!

    Please where is just section for insert the *?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Use my method and do it manually.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page