The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will cpanel work on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 Desktop?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Robert_, Oct 17, 2008.

  1. Robert_

    Robert_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Will cpanel work on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 Desktop or does it have to be the server version?
     
  2. anilg

    anilg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    india
    REDHAT LINUX DESKTOP
    it menas only desktop working . But if we want to install anything we can do it.
    just download and try.
     
  3. Robert_

    Robert_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Thanks for replying. :)

    I was just wondering if Cpanel officially supports it, since on there system requirements page it doesn't specify server/desktop, only RHEL.

    Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 server 1 year $350
    compared to
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 Desktop 1 year $80

    I figured I would try and contribute to redhat and $80yr is fairly reasonable but $350yr not so much.

    Especially since CentOS work just fine and its free.

    I guess I could submint a support ticket and probably get some kind of official answer. Its not really a priority, just curious.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We don't support Desktop focused Linux Distributions.
     
  5. Robert_

    Robert_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Thanks for answering :)
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just get Centos5 Its the same thing :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page