The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will IP Deny Manager Block Email Too?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by TomA, Feb 19, 2004.

  1. TomA

    TomA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I want to block all Korean & Chinese IP addresses from sending email to my domain until they clean up their acts over there. (I have found that this is 100% spam.)

    Will IP Deny Manager block email too?

    FYI, you can get a list of all CN/KR IPs HERE:

    http://www.okean.com/asianspamblocks.html
     
  2. bman

    bman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    use a firewall and let it block any email comeing to your email server port
     
  3. TomA

    TomA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am a user, not an admin. I don't have the authority to block messages to the entire server. Indeed, other people may NEED to receive messages from China. My domain doesn't, though, so I am trying to figure out how to block email from CH/HK IPs to MY DOMAIN ONLY.
     
  4. TomA

    TomA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Let me clarify.

    I am not a cPanel admin. I AM the admin of my domain. I just don't have server root access.

    Thanks
     
  5. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    IP Deny is for http access. You would need to use the eMail filters in Cpanel for what you want to do.
     
  6. TomA

    TomA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the responses.

    I suppose that means that I have to enter each and every IP address under "Any Header that contains xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx"

    That will be hundreds of individual IPs.

    Unless anyone knows a trick for entering ranges, I think I have a new feature request for cPanel!
     
  7. cyberspirit

    cyberspirit BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    there are specific rbl lists for what you want to accomplish. but they would have to be installed by the server admin and not by the domain admin.
     
  8. TomA

    TomA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can the server admin install them for a single domain?
     
  9. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    rbl's are installed server wide. however there are implementations in which the server admin and exclude domains from doing rbl check. If your server admin even implements the rbl and excludes all domains except your for rbl check, he still would be in trouble of maintaining the exclude file. Everytime he adds a new domain, he will need to exclude the customer from those RBL lists.

    I mite sound confusing, but this is exactly what i did for someone recently on a box of mine (the only difference was the customer was using more than 50% of the box himself so i didn't have ne probs in doing it)
     
  10. TomA

    TomA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks anand.
     
  11. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    np :)
     
  12. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How do you exclude a domain for RBL check in Exim?
     
  13. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You can get the info in rackshack forums on this.
     
Loading...

Share This Page